Family Practitioner
31 years of experience

Accepting new patients
River Road - Santa Clara
2401 River Rd
Ste 101
Eugene, OR 97404
541-344-8469
Locations and availability (1)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

12

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.4545454545455 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.7777777777778 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.4545454545455 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.7 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.3 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.8 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.1428571428571 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 23 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  GREAT DOCTOR  |  show details
Nov 19th, 2013

I wanted to take the time to comment on Dr. James Morris. It seems that most people only give reviews when they are dissatisfied with something, but for me it is just the opposite. Therefore I want to share my thoughts with others. I think Dr. Morris is a wonderful pain management physician in Eugene, who has been my doctor for almost 10 years. Before I started seeing Dr. Morris, I was in daily pain and could hardly get out of bed. I thought that since I suffer chronic pain from chronic conditions, I would just have to live this way. But with help from Dr. Morris, this is not the case. Dr. Morris is very knowledgeable in pain management and is constantly keeping up with the most current treatments and therapies. He makes sure that you have the right tools to deal with your pain, and that you have the best care possible. For me, trigger point injections have been very helpful. Also, careful use of medication, exercise and self-care are the key to keeping my pain at a tolerable level. I find Dr. Morris, his nurse practitioner, Carolyn Buel and the entire staff very caring. They all go the extra mile to make sure that I am doing well. I would highly recommend Dr. Morris to anyone who has chronic pain and wants a better quality of life.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 10th, 2011

I was diagnosed with fibromialgia a yaer ago Dr. Morris has been great.He put me on Suboxone I've only missed one days work and in over year Thankyou Dr. Morris for my life back.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Rude Office People  |  show details
Mar 3rd, 2011

I tried to schedule an appointment, when I then encountered the evil women who schedules the appointments. The other person is right, do not upset the staff. She was VERY RUDE. She told me I will never be able to see the Doctor, because, she has total control. I will not even go into all she said. Let me just say, what happened to professionalism in the workplace????

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Dropped: Contract maintenance  |  show details
Jan 4th, 2011

I will be the first to say that I did not keep my two appointments that are required in my health contract. With Morris' office it is two strikes and your out. That's ok because there are better doctors, I'm sure. Buyer beware,though. There exists in the " Morris Kingdom" a troll waiting under the bridge that quite possibly, Dr. Morris may not realize exists. That troll is his personal nurse. Forget the fact that you may only see his Dr. Morris but once a year, and be passed off to his practitioners and be charged t top dollar, but O my don't get the nurse mad at you. She can put the screws to any further dealings with the doctor and the clinic. Did I break our contract, yes but did she ask me why or if there were any circumstances that existed that caused this error. How about this 63 year old pain patient trying to raise his 1 year old granddaughter. Get the picture. O well, no loss. Another point was that I was feeling great and could not see getting jacked for another 150.00 appt. Which consisted mostly, of asking me how I felt. The clinic did infer that something seemed strange as to the "two suboxone prescriptions" that doubled up on each other."was I taking more that I should was inferred by a nurse over the phone. Nope, I don't deal drugs. Well, thats a enough of the rave and I am not done. Here comes Facebook and Twitter. Oh by the way, I was unknowingly cutoff from my medications and future appointments without due process or a letter explaining why things happened the way they did.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Marilynjeanthe quen on Jul 6th, 2010

I was treated horribly at Dr. Morris office. If u would like to know about medical marijuana do not go to this doctor her is against it. And they also do an illegal drug screen on u at every visit whether u have had a record of it or not. When I refused the urine test his nurse said " Well do u even want to continue the appoinmnent?" So basically she acted like I was a drug addict before she knew or had looked at my chart. My medical insurance ran out and they would not refill my meds even though I had been to a spine specialist who said I needed them. They would not give me my usual pain meds because I would not do a urine test. They put me on tramadol which aggravated my hiatil hernia and acid reflex. They did not help me. I have no record etiher by any doctor or police of illegal or legal drug use. Yet I was treated like a parolee. Do not go here. They are not here to help u.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Migraine free for four years-he is the best!  |  show details
by Very satisfied Patient on Nov 10th, 2009

I had Migraines since I was a child and no conventional therapy was working. After seeing Dr. Morris and his three way approach to my problem with physical therapy, bio-feedback, and non narcontic drugs; I am migraine free. I used to wake up every morning with a headache and now I even have light colored drapes in my bedroom! I find him to be a great doc willing to work with the patient in searching through the symptoms to the solution. But the key is you have to be willing to work with him, and put in the effort. It is a process! But worth it!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Better than Nothing  |  show details
by "Muincat" on Nov 15th, 2008

With very few pain doctors to choose from in town, he's probably the best. Problem? He's well aware he's the best and has very strict guidelines for working with him. If you cancel 3 appointments in less than 24 hours, he will discharge you. I don't think this is very reasonable considering the pain many of his patients endure and the unpredictable nature of some conditions. Also, I am uninsured and I have to pay the entire office fee at check out. He does not bill. I have found them very difficult to work with in requesting pain medication. I have a well documented past of preventative medicines not working for my migraines but he insisted on trying some of them again before he finally relented and gave me pain meds. It took me 6 months to convince him. Also, he and his staff tried at one point to pawn me off on a neurologist and I had to put my foot down and so "No! I've been to 3 in the last 7 years, they haven't helped and I came to you to stop the pain! You are my last resort." He also wanted me to try a bunch of non-drug therapies such as physical therapy and myofascial release and I had to sound like a broken record telling him I couldn't afford it before he finally gave up on it. BUT, as I said, he's probably your best choice in this town. You can also contact Pain Society of Oregon at 541-345-7300 for other referrals.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Watch out for this guy!  |  show details
by Leftin Pain on Nov 2nd, 2008

Beware of the "Got Complex" this guy has. He's a cold and icy man. If you want to be treated like a stupid child or lesser being, he's the guy for you. If you disagree or question, he'll show you the door. You've been warned!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Pain Practice In Eugene  |  show details
Oct 24th, 2008

Doctor Morris and his Pain Management Partners has turned my life around...after 3 years of searching for treatment for Fibromyalgia and Chronic Myofascial Pain. A little bit aggressive with the meds, but allows me to help choose my own course of treatment.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse