The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Roukema Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Roukema?

Endometriosis

Endometriosis

Get the facts about endometriosis, including symptoms and parts of the body that may be affected.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Roukema?

Ratings and Reviews

24 Ratings with 18 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 24 Ratings with 18 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 29th, 2016

Hysterectomy

From speaking to others about a full hysterectomy I believe mind went very well. I had absolutely zero blood in the 6 weeks post op. I am thrilled with his work. Thank you. And his assistant was outstanding and friendly.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

Amazing

Dr. Roukema is a great listener! He listened to all my concerns and addressed each and everyone of them. He was very kind and explained everything in detail and answered every question I had. He spent the right amount of time with each appointment and he really does care about his patients, he always asked me about life and family. I highly recommend Dr. Roukema if you want someone who cares and is a brilliant man in his field! I want to thank him for helping me become pain free and getting me to where I can enjoy life again with no worries!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 19th, 2016

Front office staff is very RUDE, inappropriate, and plainly unprofessional. I love that Dr. Roukema is my doctor, but I hate having to go to an appointment because of the rude reception. I hope this changes soon! I have daughters that see Dr. Roukema and another doctor at this same location that have gone through the same grief!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2016

Excellent

For being so young only 18 at the time I was very nervous about going into a Gyno office. His receptionist was very friendly as soon as I walked into the building. Everyone was nicely dressed and had a smile on. When they called my name back my heart began to pound being!. When dr. Roukema finally came in he was friendly and introduced himself. he didn't make me feel like I was just another number walking into the office. He took the time to listen to my problems. We discussed options and he went into detail about each one of them. I would HIGHLY recommend seeing Dr. Roukema as your OBGYN. Great atmosphere!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 25th, 2015

With MUCH regret...

My husband and I paid him to circumcise my son after he was born. Didn't know he had a cast on his hand at the time, yet he continued on with the procedure and did a horrible job. My son will need an additional procedure to fix his low quality work. Very unpleasant.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 16th, 2015

The worst expericence I have ever had!

Dr Roukema saw me one time only. I did not have insurance and needed to see a OB/GYN after 2 years of not having a yearly check up. I also suffer from IC (interstitial cystitis) Roukema's office agreed to see me and treat the IC and give me a yearly. I waited 30+ min to be seen and when I went back to the exam room the DR. was rude stating that it was my fault that I had IC and ovarian cysts. He then told me that I Must stop going to my urologist for treatment of IC immediately and use only his clinic for treatment. (turns out only Dr. Weaver and him offer DSMO in Pueblo) This was purely a competition thing. Next he continued to tell me that I would not end up marrying my fiancé because I would not be able to perform in the bedroom! What a (you know what)! Who did he think he was! The exam was rough and painful. Never had I experienced that before. I was sobbing by the time I got dressed and told the check out clerk that I wanted to wait to schedule another appointment. She refused based on the fact I needed treatment for IC. She scheduled me for DSMO treatments once a week. I refused to keep the appointment so about a week later I received a letter in the mail that they would never see me at this clinic again! I was never going to go back to the clinic anyway, but the extra step they took to humiliate me was unbelievable! Do NOT go here if you are a woman who has any self respect! This Doctor should lose his license!!!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2015

Saved me from more years of pain

Before I saw him I have seen nine other doctors and none of them wanted to help me. Dr. Roukema was the first one to diagnose me correctly. I moved away and the new Dr that I was seeing didn't want to do any new procedures. For the last 17 years I've had endometriosis PCOS fibroid tumors sis and cancer. The new Dr didn't want to help birth control was my best option according to them . I've had 23 tumors removed and I've had two ablation surgeries. I've had 2 rounds of treatment & nothing has helped. Dr. Roukema was on board for my hysterectomy. He saved me from more years of issues & pain. I thank god everyday for him coming into my life. He lives two hours away in a smaller city then where I live and I trust him more than all the obgyn here in Denver.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 27th, 2015

My experience with the doctor was excellent. He is very knowledgeable and answered all questions

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 19th, 2015

Very Rude

His practice is to busy go in he gets to the point I am trying to explain what is going on after he did my surgery tore off the starry strip without healing better told about high fevers just ignored that he was to busy typing on his tablet and not paying attention brushed me off to another doctor.Terrible practice will never go there again.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 17th, 2015

He is a great surgeon but his bedside. Manner and he has to many patients you always feel rushed and he never fully under ss tand what goes on.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 18th, 2015

Medicaid patients beware

Roukema was very rude and very judgmental on getting a second opinion too make sure my child was healthy. I had an NT scan that showed different from my other by a lot so at my appointment with him I asked various questions. He came back into the room with an attitude because I have Medicaid and was rude and told me that I wasted tax payers money. I simply got a second opinion because doctors make mistakes and everyone should always get a second opinion when it's something that really bothers them. I feel he is a nice man at times but very judgmental if you have Medicaid.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2014

I highly recommend Dr. Roukema. You will receive them best care in Pueblo.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Roukema is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Soldotna, AK.

  • Dr. Jo Hawthorne

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Soldotna, AK 0 mi

    3.3
    (14)
    30
  • Dr. Elizabeth Ehama

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Soldotna, AK 0.19 mi

    4.6
    (110)
    10
  • Dr. Roger Brecheen

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Soldotna, AK 0.19 mi

    4.6
    (7)
    24