The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Thompson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Thompson?

Metastatic Melanoma

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Thompson?

Ratings and Reviews

17 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
32.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 17 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 2nd, 2015

I found him to be arrogant and dismissive and rude. lengthy credentials over a vast amount of time...maybe it's time to hang it up.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 31st, 2015

I found him to be dismissive and basically rude. I had a cyst on my finger which her drained by puncturing it without warning and letting me know that it would hurt . When it came back and we discussed surgery - i was told that I needed to amke an appointment to come in to make an appointment - $ for him and out of my pocket for a copay for nothing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 20th, 2015

Never got seen

Waited an hour for a 10 a.m. appt and was told at that point there were 6 patients ahead of me. I left. I don't do business with anyone this disorganized and disrespectful of my time.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 10th, 2015

Surgeons are sometimes Curt

Dr Thompson would not be described as "warm & fuzzy" - unfortunately very stiff - but a very competent surgeon and successfully operated and remedied 2 O.R.'s - a De Quervains Release and a Carpal Tunnel. I'm pleased, but had to swallow his "Style"

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 15th, 2013

Awful Bedside Manner

My husband crushed his hand in a work accident, breaking all four bones in the back of his hand, and Dr Thompson performed the surgery a few days later. He originally told us he was going to place a plate and screws on one of the fingers because it was broken so badly. But during the surgery, he changed his mind and decided to go the easier route and put a pin in it instead. Now, almost 2 years later, my husband still has absolutely no feeling in his pinky and can barely move it. Dr Thompson has a serious God-complex and an absolutely awful bedside manner. Oh and to top it all off, he gave me husband a 10% impairment rating for Workers Comp (the lowest possible) even though he is in constant pain and has difficulty with even the simplest things because of his hand.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 12th, 2012

Poor surgical outcome and very poor followup

i went to this physician in 2006 to have some work on right hand so i could continue working; i have been unable to work a day; went to large medical center and got a bad report; i am a registered nurse and really needed my right hand to continue working; the surgical outcome has had a major impact on my life; i would not recommend this physician to anyone;

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 7th, 2012

Doctor determined that husband could go back to work only a week after amputation of 3 fingers. He still has same bandgage and doctor did not even xray hand. Wait to go back to a room was over an hour and then another 30 minutes in the room.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 15th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 30th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 10th, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Thompson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Asheville, NC.

  • Dr. Ronald Neimkin

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Asheville, NC 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    38
  • Dr. Lacy Thornburg

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Asheville, NC 0.01 mi

    2.8
    (15)
    24
  • Dr. Jesse West

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Asheville, NC 0.04 mi

    4.0
    (19)
    12