Dr. James Sapala MD Patient Reviews

  • Bariatric Medicine Bellport, NY

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.4)

22 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    68%
  • Great
    9%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    5%
  • Wait Time 20.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2016
Great man
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
LOVE Dr.Sapala so very much some of the staff could use an attitude adjustment but not a horrible experience
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2015
All these year later and.....
I'm still going strong! Dr. Sapala performed my gastric bypass in 2002 at Detroit Riverview Hospital. His office was in Jackson, Michigan at the time. I started out at 365lbs and hit my goal at 137lbs! Dr. Sapala and his staff have stayed in contact with me, have assisted me and have encouraged me every step of the way! There hasn't been one single time when I felt the desire to complain or even whine about Dr. Sapala or his staff. Even when I had a bit of weight re-gain, Dr. Sapala's staff assisted me in getting "it" back together. This man has saved my life, for that I am so very grateful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2010
17+ YRS AFTER GASTRIC BY-PASS
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
TODAY MY INTERNIST INQUIRED WHO HAD DONE MY WEIGHT LOSS SURGERY? DR.SAPALA IN THE JACKSON, MI LOCALE...THIS WAS IN 93? GIVE OR TAKE A YEAR. I AM NOW INTO MANY YEARS, MAINTAINING A VERY HEALTHY WEIGHT, NO BP, DIABETIC, OR OTHER BAD HEALTH CONCERNS...AND I AM 69.YRS OLD...SO I WAS NOT YOUNG WHEN I HAD THIS SURGERY. I LIKE TO BELIEVE I HAD PROBABLY THE BEST DOCTOR FOR THIS PROCEDURE....NEEDLESS TO SAY I AM HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 14th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are thinking of gastric by pass sugery, this is the doctor to go to. The reason he requires you to lose some weight before surgery is as a benefit to your health. Over weight people have what is known as fatty liver, the liver sits on top of your stomach, reducing the fat thru weight loss is a for your own good. Dr. Sapala is not a nut as stated by the other person. His staff will help you to lose the weight before surgery. Bypass is not for everyone. You have to be ready for a commitment including weight loss prior to surgery. My two cents.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 18th, 2010
A nut
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to him so a gastric bypass and he told me to lose 70lbs before the procedure and then gave me a surgical date 57days away. If I could lose 70lbs in 57 days I wouldn't need surgery would I.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Jim performed a gastric-bypass on me in 1993. In my opinion,there is not a better surgeon in the country. His is not only a doctor, he is also a friend. This friendship and his advice led my husband and I into a decision when faced with kidney cancer that ultimately saved my husband's life. We will be indebted to him for the rest of our lives. Keeping the weight off for these 16 yrs. has not been easy, but I am no where near the size that I was in 1993. I owe all of this to Dr. Jim. My feeling toward him is that feeling love of a family member and friend. I am a better person from having known him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 31st, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2016

4.0 of 5
January 31st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 10th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Sapala, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Bellport, NY.