The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Shmalo Is this you?

Filter Reviews

16 Ratings • 6 Comments

4.6
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Shmalo?

Showing 12 of 16 Ratings

Mommy of two

Posted on August 16th, 2012

Dr. Shmalo is an awesome Dr. He has helped us thru some tough times. Yes he did leave Kidd Peds with out contacting patients but that was because he worked under Dr. Kidd and we were nor considered" his" patients! He did not have the option of calling anyone! I will follow him to his new office! He has always been very caring toward my children. Yes I do think he likes to wash his hands a lot but at least I know his hands are germ free when he takes care if my kids and plus he gas two young twins at home I'm sure he don't want to constantly be sick himself! I would never complain about hand washing in a Dr's office!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Up and left his patients without notice.

Posted on June 1st, 2012

Dr. Shmalo was a good doctor to my children however; he recently left Kidd pediatrics without any warning or notice to his patients. He clearly has no regard for patients as people and will simply move onto another practice without warning so be ware.

Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 9th, 2011

very professional and caring - great doctor for small children

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 8th, 2010

Thorough and professional. Wonderful doctor.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mother of 2

Posted on February 23rd, 2010

I love Dr. Shmalo. He always listens to what I have to say and takes in consideration a mothers feelings. Always responsive in answering my questions and giving me details to make sure I understand. Returns calls in a timeley manner and easy to get an appointment with.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

LOVE HIM

Posted on February 23rd, 2009

My Children absolutely Love Dr. Shmalo. I think the review that the other person gave is ridiculous. My children have gone to Dr. Shmalo for 2 years now. The absolutely love him! He is very compassionate and caring. My children play Dr. at home and it is funny because they each want turns being Dr. Shmalo. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a fine pediatrician.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on January 19th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 23rd, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on November 18th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on October 22nd, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on June 21st, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on May 30th, 2012

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Shmalo is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Avon, IN.