Dr. James Sutherland Jr MD Patient Reviews

  • Rheumatology Mechanicsville, VA

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.1)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    14%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    21%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 16 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 19th, 2017
Dr. Sutherland
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
excellent dr. got both my problems correct the first time. very little RX involved. double checks everything. extremely attentive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2016
A great doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A very thoughtful doctor. Cares about his patients. Always has time for you. Never in a "hurry mood". Always feels better when you leave. Knows a lot of medical info.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love him and he listens and pays attention to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2015
I like the doc. Office staff not so much
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing him for about a year trying to figure out what exactly is going on. I'm in the early stages of a likely auto-immune issue. I feel he's done a good job managing me during this process and treating my symptoms. Good bedside manner. Sometimes I would like more of a forecast of what's ahead based on his years of experience but overall I like him. I don't like the office staff as much. I always ask for the earliest available appt. I think they give me a time that is 30 minutes early just to keep the doc happy. I always must wait about 30 minutes for him to come and get me so I assume it's really an 8:30am appt and they are telling me 8am. I hate this. Also, they are the only medical office I deal with that refuses to accept a credit card payment by phone after a bill is received. Lame excuse that they can't do that. Every other retailer and doc office can, but they can't? For an office dealing with people going through tough medical issues, they seem very inconsiderate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 2nd, 2011
love the nurses and the office staff, but....
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I get the impression from the doctor that I am a "problem patient", although I very rarely call in and keep all of my appointments. My autoimmune illness over the past 5 yrs has added symptoms and additional diagnoses (diagnosed by other doctors), and while he will confirm the diagnosis there is no information given on treatment, prognosis, or anything that I can do to make things better. My last visit was the final straw as he relayed to me through the nurse the name of what I had, no instructions on treatment or what it was, and when I went home and Googled it I was scared to death. No more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2010
denied appt
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being a patient previous when referred to a Rheeumomologist I Immediated thought of Dr Sutherland. After waitin 3 weeks for my appt. I was called the day of and told he had refused to see stating i was dismissed from his proactice years agao, which I was completely unaware of. I kept all my appts and was giving no reason for this decision, not to mentio I have been waiting to see him for 3 weeks and in alot of pain and have lsot 60 pounds in less than 4 months. Great care there right!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 17th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients

5.0 of 5
December 21st, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 14th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 28th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 9th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 21st, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Sutherland Jr, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mechanicsville, VA.

Mechanicsville, VA
4.5
Mechanicsville, VA
3.0