ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Sutherland Jr Is this you?
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 1

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
16 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Sutherland Jr?


14 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 19th, 2017

Dr. Sutherland

excellent dr. got both my problems correct the first time. very little RX involved. double checks everything. extremely attentive.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 9th, 2016

A great doctor

A very thoughtful doctor. Cares about his patients. Always has time for you. Never in a "hurry mood". Always feels better when you leave. Knows a lot of medical info.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2016

Love him and he listens and pays attention to me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

June 2nd, 2015

I like the doc. Office staff not so much

I've been seeing him for about a year trying to figure out what exactly is going on. I'm in the early stages of a likely auto-immune issue. I feel he's done a good job managing me during this process and treating my symptoms. Good bedside manner. Sometimes I would like more of a forecast of what's ahead based on his years of experience but overall I like him. I don't like the office staff as much. I always ask for the earliest available appt. I think they give me a time that is 30 minutes early just to keep the doc happy. I always must wait about 30 minutes for him to come and get me so I assume it's really an 8:30am appt and they are telling me 8am. I hate this. Also, they are the only medical office I deal with that refuses to accept a credit card payment by phone after a bill is received. Lame excuse that they can't do that. Every other retailer and doc office can, but they can't? For an office dealing with people going through tough medical issues, they seem very inconsiderate.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 2nd, 2011

love the nurses and the office staff, but....

I get the impression from the doctor that I am a "problem patient", although I very rarely call in and keep all of my appointments. My autoimmune illness over the past 5 yrs has added symptoms and additional diagnoses (diagnosed by other doctors), and while he will confirm the diagnosis there is no information given on treatment, prognosis, or anything that I can do to make things better. My last visit was the final straw as he relayed to me through the nurse the name of what I had, no instructions on treatment or what it was, and when I went home and Googled it I was scared to death. No more.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 12th, 2010

denied appt

After being a patient previous when referred to a Rheeumomologist I Immediated thought of Dr Sutherland. After waitin 3 weeks for my appt. I was called the day of and told he had refused to see stating i was dismissed from his proactice years agao, which I was completely unaware of. I kept all my appts and was giving no reason for this decision, not to mentio I have been waiting to see him for 3 weeks and in alot of pain and have lsot 60 pounds in less than 4 months. Great care there right!!!

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

March 17th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2015

5.0 Rating

September 14th, 2015

2.0 Rating

June 28th, 2015

2.0 Rating

June 9th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Sutherland Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Mechanicsville, VA.

  • Dr. James Brodeur

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Mechanicsville, VA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (15)
    28
  • Dr. Lawrence Lewkow

    Dr. Lawrence Lewkow

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, Hematology

    Mechanicsville, VA 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (4)
    42
  • Dr. Peter Coutlakis

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Mechanicsville, VA 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (26)
    19