The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Van Horne Is this you?

Filter Reviews

94 Ratings • 51 Comments

4.6
  • 79
  • 2
  • 9
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
8.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Van Horne?

Showing 12 of 94 Ratings

Excellent care

Posted on November 7th, 2017

Dr. Van Horne did my mother's hip replacement. It was such an easy process. The doctor lays out all the things you need to do, step-by-step. Just follow his directions and the days before surgery will be more painful than any day after. Mom had little to no pain after surgery, even the next day with a 2-hour drive home. I am so please with the care Mom received that I've asked Dr. Van Horne to do my hip replacement when the time comes. I wouldn't see anyone else. Do you hear that, Dr. Van Horne? You are NOT allowed to retire!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 29th, 2017

Dr. Van Horne M.D. performed complete knee replacement 9 weeks ago and I am so pleased that everything turned out so well. He is an amazing surgeon and truly cares for his patients in every way possible. Before and after surgery he prepares his patients to get strong and explains everything in great detail and takes a lot of time in his office...His staff is also wonderful and returns calls in a timely manner. I did compare other surgeons and felt Dr. Van Horne was the best choice and I am glad I did.....

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Need Knee Replacement--Dr. Van Horne is the Best!

Posted on August 18th, 2017

I recently had a total knee replacement completed by Dr. Van Horne or Paragon Orthopedics. He is unlike any other local orthopedic surgeon in that he insists that you follow a strict regimen of preparing for surgery and recovery after it. Because of his skill and this program, I am completely mobile without an assistive device and very little discomfort at 2 months out. He is expert in what he does and extremely caring as are the other staff members that work with him. I highly recommend him and the Paragon Orthopedic practice.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent experience with THR

Posted on April 18th, 2017

Just follow Dr. Van Horne's instructions and you will have a successful operation and recovery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Van Horne is a phenomenal doctor and his skill as a surgeon is superior!

Posted on March 29th, 2017

Dr. Van Horne goes to great lengths to educate his patients with step-by-step descriptions and guidelines for them to follow, so that they know exactly what to expect. I found his attention to detail and awareness of questions/concerns that patients may have to be impressive! After having multiple surgeries, I can say that Dr. Van Horne is the best surgeon I have ever had!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Perfect outcome

Posted on March 11th, 2017

I had a very good experience (total hip replacement) from the first consultation to the post-surgery appointments. Dr. Van Horne is not only a very good surgeon, but is also a kind and funny man who spends as much time with you answering your questions, as you want.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Don't forget to move!

Posted on March 9th, 2017

The key to having a very successful hip replacement surgery is to be in good health and follow the exercise regimen closely. I am fortunate to know the joy of exercise and it paid off with pain free movement. It is now possible for me to climb stairs, attend yoga class and hike as often as possible. Being active is the answer!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 16th, 2017

I would recommend Dr Van Horne to my family and friends for orthopedic surgery anytime. He is thorough in every respect and patients should listen and read his recommendations regarding pre surgery especially the preparation to avoid opioid induced constipation and the exercises he recommends pre and post surgery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 9th, 2017

Dr. Van Horne is highly organized with giving each patient very clear directions on pre-op and post-op education. He emphasizes the importance of exercise and I highly agree that this is the path to success before and after hip and knee replacement surgery. If you follow his directions you will have great success.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Skilled and kind.

Posted on February 5th, 2017

He is very skilled but equally important he is kind and compassionate.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great outcome on a hip replacement

Posted on January 19th, 2017

If you are considering a hip replacement I highly recommend Dr Van Horne for his caring attitude and experience with this procedure. If you follow the protocol your chances for a successful outcome with be greatly enhanced. After only 6 weeks post op we went snow shoeing for a couple of hours and I am totally pain free. The most important part of the process is to take the pre and post op exercises seriously. You will be so much stronger if you exercise seriously which will speed you recovery greatly!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 3rd, 2016

He is the best doctor that we have ever had. He replaced both my knees and did a complete hip replacement on Dona. We trust him more than any other doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Van Horne is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Grants Pass, OR.