Dr. James Van Horne MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedics Reconstructive Surgery Grants Pass, OR

Overall Rating

4.7
  • 80 patient ratings
  • 48 comments

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 0.2)

48 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    84%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Wait Time 8.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2017
Dr. Van Horne
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Horne is the best he is very caring and he tells it like it is. He does 5% and you do 95% of the work and you will do great. If you don't that is on you. He did both of my husbands knees and he is doing great. You can hardly see the scars. We are very happy with Dr. Van Horne and recommend him to anyone that needs knee or hip replacements. Derrell and Edie Williamson
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2017
Dr. Van Horne is a phenomenal doctor and his skill as a surgeon is superior!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Horne goes to great lengths to educate his patients with step-by-step descriptions and guidelines for them to follow, so that they know exactly what to expect. I found his attention to detail and awareness of questions/concerns that patients may have to be impressive! After having multiple surgeries, I can say that Dr. Van Horne is the best surgeon I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 10th, 2017
Perfect outcome
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a very good experience (total hip replacement) from the first consultation to the post-surgery appointments. Dr. Van Horne is not only a very good surgeon, but is also a kind and funny man who spends as much time with you answering your questions, as you want.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2017
Don't forget to move!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The key to having a very successful hip replacement surgery is to be in good health and follow the exercise regimen closely. I am fortunate to know the joy of exercise and it paid off with pain free movement. It is now possible for me to climb stairs, attend yoga class and hike as often as possible. Being active is the answer!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr Van Horne to my family and friends for orthopedic surgery anytime. He is thorough in every respect and patients should listen and read his recommendations regarding pre surgery especially the preparation to avoid opioid induced constipation and the exercises he recommends pre and post surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Horne is highly organized with giving each patient very clear directions on pre-op and post-op education. He emphasizes the importance of exercise and I highly agree that this is the path to success before and after hip and knee replacement surgery. If you follow his directions you will have great success.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2017
Skilled and kind.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very skilled but equally important he is kind and compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 19th, 2017
Great outcome on a hip replacement
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are considering a hip replacement I highly recommend Dr Van Horne for his caring attitude and experience with this procedure. If you follow the protocol your chances for a successful outcome with be greatly enhanced. After only 6 weeks post op we went snow shoeing for a couple of hours and I am totally pain free. The most important part of the process is to take the pre and post op exercises seriously. You will be so much stronger if you exercise seriously which will speed you recovery greatly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the best doctor that we have ever had. He replaced both my knees and did a complete hip replacement on Dona. We trust him more than any other doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 27th, 2016
Dr. Van Horne is #1
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent and positive experiences from before my hip replacements (both replaced 8 weeks apart) to where I am now (2 months post op - second hip replacement & 4 months post op from the first). Dr. Van Horne is kind and generous with his time, answering all your questions and encouraging you to follow his advice regarding exercises, personal care, and walking before and after surgery. I am already walking 5 miles and day totally pain free! His staff is great! Dr. Van Horne is the BEST!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 15th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
I recently had two hip replacement surgeries by Dr. Van Horne. I've had major surgeries in the past and this is by far the best experience. There is virtually no wait time in his office and the staff are friendly and expedient. The Grants Pass Surgery Center facility and staff are great as well! I've had a fast recovery and can finally walk without pain for the first time in many years. Dr. Van Horne, aka Dr. Van Hugger is an excellent surgeon and genuinely nice guy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2016
Superior Surgeon - Super Human!
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have only awesome things to say about Dr. James Robert Van Horne! He is the best orthopedic surgeon I have ever met. Yes, he makes you prepare befor ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Van Horne, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Grants Pass, OR.

Doctor

Dr. Robert Bents

26 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Appleby

37 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kiley Ziegler

9 years experience

4.0 of 5