The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Whittum Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Whittum?

Ratings and Reviews

22 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    3
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    15
  • Excellent
    3
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    15

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
22.1 min

Showing 22 Ratings with 10 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 30th, 2017

3-minute evaluation visit with doctor for a pulled hamstring. Doctor looked at my knee, did not look at or feel my hamstring. He said that, since I walked in, I should be fine in 4-6 weeks. When I asked him to explain my condition further, his response was very limited. I left with the impression that I had wasted his time. Amazing.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 11th, 2017

Very bad bedside manor

Saw him for an injury to my left wrist, said it was not broken probably just sprained told me if I wanted to make myself feel better to put a soft bandage on it, that I could return to work full duty without a problem. As my wrist still hurts very bad and makes a clicking on the outside of my wrist and no way I can work full duty as an LNA

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 29th, 2015

Awesome Dr.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 7th, 2015

Ridiculous

Extremely rude, talked down because of my age, although I am an adult over twenty. Insinuated that I lied about pain very rudely. "If there really is pain, you can take an advil." Left more angry than I have been since I can remember. Waste of time and money, see someone else if possibly.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 29th, 2014

Had a positive experience

i had an appointment today @ 11:30 a.m was seen on time. I only had to wait 5 minutes in the room after the nurse brought me in. When he came in he listened to me about my issue which was carpal tunnel. He gave me a cortizone shot, talk about what should happen with it and what we will have to do if it Dosnt work. Overall I had a good experience with him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 7th, 2014

Seems like a good fellow.

I will be seeing this doctor soon for a knee issue. Making an appointment was easy and I don't think 4 bad (and shallow reviews) can make the man.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 30th, 2013

Inept, unprofessional, and rude

He was so rude and unprofessional during my wife's visit, that we wrote a letter to the president of the hospital. This man is not fit to be called Dr.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 20th, 2013

Stay Away

Abrupt, irritable, angry, grandiose,punishing. Stay away.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2013

Useless

Treated me for a year,including surgery.No better than before I saw him..Very little examination of affected area.Will not listen and take you seriously. If he says he fixed the problem he will not even listen to anything otherwise.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 31st, 2010

bedside manner not caring about patient just himself in/out
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

June 5th, 2017

1.0 Rating

January 26th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Whittum is similar to the following 3 Doctors near North Adams, MA.

  • Dr. Jonathan Cluett

    Dr. Jonathan Cluett

    Orthopedic Surgery

    North Adams, MA 0 mi

    4.4
    (24)
    17
  • Dr. Suk Namkoong

    Dr. Suk Namkoong

    Orthopedic Surgery

    North Adams, MA 0 mi

    3.5
    (16)
    19
  • Dr. Eric White

    Orthopedic Surgery

    North Adams, MA 0.10 mi

    1.0
    (2)
    46