Dr. Jamie Smolen MD Patient Reviews

  • Addiction Medicine Gainesville, FL

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

1.7 (-1.4)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    41%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Wait Time 22 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 16th, 2017
Run
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy is mean and domineering. Doesn't even look at you except when he wants to say something condescending or question your integrity. Not an ounce of compassion though he'll say he is a great nice guy. How can a shrink be a gaslighter? He should be fired.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2016
RNjax
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do not use this doctor for IPN. He can permanently ruin your career. I am currently getting a lawyer. His assessment was not accurate, extreme, and contradictory to several other professional exams. I am permanently labeled as with "severe alcohol abuse", despite the fact that I have not touched alcohol in 3 years, and my hair analysis and PETH test were negative. He will say anything to get you admitted to his $12,000 a month facility. He was very disrepectful and condecending. In one hour he diagnosed me with things my doctor for 10 years completely disagrees with. He should not be able to be a part of IPN.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 4th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
antichrist. Worst experience with a doctor I've ever had. Insulting because he said I couldn't afford him and what was I doing there. Tried to put words in my mouth and assumed things that ere not true. You go to a doctor for help. Turns out I may have cancer of the stomach and my severe weakness is from blood loss and muscle deterioration. Made a mistake even taking to him and cost a fortune. A doctor that has never been addicted shouldn't write a book about something he has never felt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2016
Dont go to him if you are in IPN!!!!!!!!!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doc is out for blood or to make people suffer. I choose to go to him rather than Dr. Titlebaum (or however u spell). I was soooo wrong. This doc did not make eye contact and had a smirk on his face the whole time i was talking. Made me feel very uncomfortable!! Then I get the results back and he said I had to go to residential treatment over one prescribed tramadol!! Please please please do not choose him if you are an IPN participant. Now i dont know what im going to do bc I am broke cause i had to spend all my money on him and dr. Reisfield. He didnt even call me with his results. Egotistical is what i think of him. No compassion what so ever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Typed while I was talking. No eye contact. Didnt feel confortable talking to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Wait time
40 minutes
Complete and total quack. Put false information that I did not say in final report.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2016
Incompetent Physician
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smolen is possibly the most inept psychiatrist I have ever been to. I was recommended to see him by the University of Florida which I attend and they could not have hired a more incompetent man. When I got to his office I had to wait almost 2 hours for my appointment. When I saw him he was unapolagetic about this and was very judgmental throughout the whole appointment. This man has absolutely no empathy or compassion. He even spent several minutes boasting about how he was a good psychiatrist when in fact he does not even have basic social skills. He has absolutely no idea how to communicate with other human beings. I have since learned from other individuals that I have spoken to that he was grossly inappropriate with them and even groped one young lady. This man should not have a license to practice medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 24th, 2015
Research scientist
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. smolen made moral judgments about my behavior and claims to be sensitive but shows only mock empathy. He was extremely passive aggressive and presumptuous: seems to have no knowledge of multiple cultural approaches to psychology. It's my way or the highway with him. If you want an archaic treatment from say the 1930s or 50s then he's the right doctor for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 9th, 2015
fell into a trap
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very importent man, like a hammer sees only nails all around alot of experience with bones and knifes great smile
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2014
Outstanding Man
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smolen was my doctor for 4 to 5 years, and would still be if he hadn't been honored with his positions in Gainesville. My loss is surely a gain for an innumerable amount of people in the future. I recommend Dr. Smolen for a true experience of being recognized as a real person by him, and with each problem addressed in order, as they come up. His patience and compassion are not run-of-the-mill. Good luck to anyone who is fortunate enough to receive services with him, I am certain you will be better in so many ways through that experience. I sure do miss him!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2013
Knowledgeable
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you see Dr. Smolen for a suboxone treatment just know that you have to put in the effort to get better such as attending meetings, going to counseling sessions or even going to the FL Recovery Center's intensive outpatient program, just as long as your putting in the work to get sober he will help you. However if you do slip up and you fail the drug test I believe you are instantly dropped from the program. I honestly didn't stick around to find out, because I did relapse due to a very traumatizing event that happened to me and I didn't even feel like it was necessary to pay to go to the doctor just to be told I was kicked out of the program. But if you really want help and are really serious about quitting your habit then Dr.Smolen is a great doctor to consider seeing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2012
Compassionate, knowledgeable,
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent treatment skills. Compassionate human being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jamie Smolen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Gainesville, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Stephen Straubing

41 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Bruce Mcfarland

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Steven Pinkert

be the first to rate this Doctor