ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jan Penkala Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jan Penkala?

Ratings and Reviews

30 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 30 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2015

Dr Penkala is a great doctor and he is always willing to help. He has been in my family from my grandmother to my mother and now me. Each one of us thinks of him as an amzaing doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 12th, 2015

patient

Dr.Penkala has been my OBGYN for 23 years. He has delivered 3 out of my four children. all my pregnancy birth were fabulous he comes across very serious but gets the job done he has times where he needs to be serious after all I would want him to be. I've also had two surgeries with him and both times he was fabulous the office staff are fantastic robin is my favorite.they are very attentive when you call with a problem they call you back or Dr Penkala calls back.Waiting in the waiting room I always tried to think of one day I might be the reason the office is running late so I tried to be compassionate in regards to other people after all we all know when your in labor your in labor...

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

November 7th, 2014

customer service training needed

The office staff needs to learn a little customer service skills. If they know its going to be a long wait, don't let a patient sit there for 45 minutes and then say "well the doctor isn't here and we don't know when he will be back". I was also told my due date wrong twice!! Dr. Penkala has little patience and understanding for first time mothers. When i would ask questions his answers would be short. He had made me feel that calling him would be an inconvenience. The staff member Robin is sweet, knowledgeable and great with patients. And Ann, the nurse practitioner, is so thorough with every visit. I call her my encyclopedia. Wish i didnt feel rushed during every prenatal visit, as I would use this office again.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 31st, 2012

Not Very Professional

Not a very good bedside mannerLikes to rush through appointmentsCan be rude at timesOffice staff very rude,Never organized,Appointment is never on time!

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 7th, 2012

Disgusted.

Do not I repeat., do not see this Dr. I had the happy experience, or what should have been, with my good Friend. As soon as he walked in he didn't even greet her. Belittled her for gaining a few pounds during the week in her pregnancy , didn't even greet me or look my way. I've heard sooooo many stories or his rude, arrogant bed side manner, two stories of one patient dyin in his care and one misdiagnosed. He needs to be reviewed and have his license taken away. He is a miserable human being, and NO one should have the misfourtune of having to be in his care.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 16th, 2012

He is very arrogant with no bed side manners a bit belittling too! He does not go out of the way for you and almost makes you feel like he is doing you a favor!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

March 19th, 2012

Defensive and just plain rude

I had an issue happen on a Friday afternoon that was really quite scary. I was told they were too busy and to call back Monday. I asked if I should go to ER and their response was, "if you feel like it". I went to urgent care and they sent me immediately for a transvaginal ultrasound. It revealed that I had large fibroids and should follow up with OB and gave me medication for pain. The urgent care physician called me the next day to see how I was feeling. She even called me on Sunday to tell me my blood test results!! Now that's a good doc!!When I saw Dr. Penkala on Monday, he was so rude about me going to urgent care and his staff talked to me like I was $&@;. He had always been nice up until then. I never had any issues. But I'll never go back, either.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2011

Horrible doctor almost let me die!!!

Dr. Penkala should turn in his license to practice medicine! I was 27 weeks pregnant (had felt ignored the entire way through my pregnancy) when I started bleeding and was told unless I was gushing blood I was fine. I also gained almost 70 lbs of water and couldn't breathe. When he was not doing anything about it I switched doctors. At 28 weeks my new doc. sent me to the emergency room after taking one look at me and I delivered my baby at 1 lbs 14 oz (she had stopped growing weeks before!) and I almost died with a failing liver and kidneys and blood pressures of 209/125!!! Even the books told me I had preeclampsia before this doctor did! Fortunately me and my daughter both made it and we are both healthy today.. no thanks to dr. Penkala

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2011

NO WAY JOSE

Dr. Penkala and his staff are horribly rude and dismissive. They are judgmental and uncaring, and are clearly in it for the paycheck and not for the patient care. This was my first visit, and Dr. Penkala berated and belittled me WHILE I WAS IN THE STIRRUPS!! 4 months after my pap, I still didn't receive the results, only to receive a call from my PCP advising of them! Horrible business practices. I'm MUCH more comfortable at Planned Parenthood, picketers and all.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 31st, 2011

kind, gentle and knoledgeable

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 18th, 2010

my first time ever going to the ob gyn i was like 13 and scared out of my mind. dr. penkala made it soooo much better..not. it hurt so bad to the point where i was balling my eyes out. and he didnt even care. he also was very rude and disrespectful. make sure you see molly, she is so much better.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 7th, 2010

I have been a patient of the office for over 12 years now and have never had an issue with the staff, PA, or doctor. I find that he takes the time to answer questions. I had to go in for a biopsy in the office which I was very nervous about and he actually eased my anxiety about it.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jan Penkala is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lincoln, RI.

  • Dr. Janet Lefkowitz

    Dr. Janet Lefkowitz

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Lincoln, RI 0.90 mi

    4.2
    (23)
    11
  • Dr. Reza Shah-Hosseini

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    North Smithfield, RI 4.24 mi

    46
  • Dr. Fariborz Khorsand-Ravan

    Dr. Fariborz Khorsand-Ravan

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    North Smithfield, RI 4.24 mi

    46