ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jan Roda Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jan Roda?

Adult ADHD

Get the facts about attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) in adults, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jan Roda?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    11
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    11

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 5th, 2017

Review

I've seen Dr Roda for almost 15 years. He's thoughtful, compassionate and dependale. His treatment approach is conservative which works well for me since I'm impacted by treatment changes. He's always punctual so I've never had to wait. I would definitely recommend him without hesitation.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 5th, 2017

I've seen Dr Roda for almost 15 years. He's thoughtful, compassionate and dependale. His treatment approach is conservative which works well for me since I'm impacted by treatment changes. He's always punctual so I've never had to wait. I would definitely recommend him without hesitation.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2016

Humiliation and WRONG Diagnosis

Don't waste your time. He needs to retire. I've never been so humiliated, scolded, and condescended to by a doctor while going over my life history. I didn't go in for a dx, I've had that for 10 years, just wanted an Rx refill. Nope. He re-diagnosed me incorrectly and said all my effective medications were wrong for me. If you care about yourself at all, find someone else.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2016

Terrible Terrible experience

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 28th, 2014

Bad experience

I had a bad experience with Dr. Roda. He didn't even know what medication I was taking. I had to actually tell him the name of the medication and the dosage so that he could write a prescription. He seemed very forgetful. The only reason why I kept going to him was because I was new to the country and didn't know where else to go. He seemed to be only interested in the co-pay. One time, I forgot to pay him at the end of the session. He reminded me. I payed him and made a joke about forgetting about paying people because I have ADHD. Then he tried to take advantage of that by saying that I had not payed the last session as well. I am sure that I payed him! Then I told him that I had payed him and he smiled, as if he was thinking "yeah, I know". Don't go to him. I am sure you can find someone better in NYC.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2013

Cranky Man

The doctor who has been a psychiatrist for many years, seems to not understand it when a patient is in extreme distress. He gets cranky about insurance forms, cranky about prescriptions, etc. He hardly speaks. In a 45 minutes session, you would like to know what he is thinking, would like to have him offer you a bit of advice or something, etc. You cannot call him in an emergency, etc. I gave him too long of a chance. He did seem a bit empathetic if I cried about anything, but other than that, he has not been helpful. I wonder if he ever thinks about his patients when he goes home at night.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 24th, 2013

Avoid Jan Roda

Jan Roda seems either burned out on his job, or just not to care in general about his patients. I understand that a large part of psychiatry has become the rote dispensing of medication; but that said, Roda is so rote in his approach as to seem robotic. He checks the clock constantly during sessions; he spends the first five minutes (while the patient is talking) check off forms and things in his planner; and then the best for last: when you give him the check at the end, he endorses it right in front of you. He gives little or no advice about symptoms for withdrawl from medications (I was on an SSRI), and he seems irritated when you call him. Someone needs to remind him that he's supposed to be in a "helping profession."

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 26th, 2011

does not give any advise

You do all the talking.It is like being on a date and she does not speak.Where did he get his license

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 13th, 2011

Physician, heal thyself!

Absolutely uncaring and devoid of even the least bit of empathy for his patients. He lets you decide what meds and dosage to take and offers no guidance whatsoever. All he's interested in is the copay, copay, COPAY! Avoid him like the PLAGUE!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 13th, 2011

does not seem to care

if you ask him a question he will ask one right back.Gives no real advise

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 9th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jan Roda is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Noel Taylor

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    36
  • Dr. Gregory Alsip

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.5
    (11)
    28
  • Dr. Alexander Bardey

    Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.5
    (5)
    28