ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jane Hughes Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jane Hughes?

Chronic Dry Eye

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jane Hughes?

Ratings and Reviews

18 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
26.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 18 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2016

Good doctor

Knowledgeable doctor. Nice office and staff. Dr. was out of network with my insurance but the office helped submit the claim to my insurance company. The doctor's fees were fair and reasonable.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2016

Skilled doctor

Skilled eye doctor. Solved my problem.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 5th, 2016

Ophthalmologist

I would like to clarify the recent review by a person who has misunderstood my reasons being unwilling to sign a contract with any insurance company to continue being an "in network" provider. The insurance companies have become increasingly intrusive in their attempt to manage the care I render for my patients, most egregiously through mandatory cheap (and many times ineffective) generic drugs with punitive cost differentials. I have lowered all of my fees with a totally transparent fee schedule that is on my website. We have also returned to filing for our patients as an "out-of-network" provider. I render charitable care when needed, and we make payment arrangements. This is not about money, although I do not apologize for my fees which I set with every consideration. This is about my ability to practice state of the art ophthalmologic care for my patients and assume responsibility for their care and healthcare education.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

November 27th, 2015

If you have unlimited funds and don't need to rely on insurance, go see Jane Hughes

I appreciate the fact that this doctor performs well, but unfortunately, her attitudes about the good of her patients seems based in her need to make lots of money. She is proud of her work and wants you to pay out of pocket. If you are part of the 1% and can afford medical care without considering cost, She is great! But if you want someone who is working because she wants to help her clients, forget it! Her goal is to make a profit. If she has to be bothered with paperwork that helps you obtain her services… Forget it!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 16th, 2015

She is the best!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2015

Highly recommend!

She is so knowledgeable that she can clearly and patiently explain EVERYTHING and answered every question I had--always responded in a timely manner to phoned-in concerns--an amazing woman and an amazing surgeon. The slight demerit on promptness is understandable because she will spend extra time with a patient to assuage his or her fears and concerns. Sometimes it puts her a little behind schedule.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 21st, 2013

Will Never Change Doctors

Been a patient of Dr. Hughes for 25+ years. She has literally saved my eye sight. My highest compliment is that all my family and many friends now see her.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2012

impressed

smart, personable doctor

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 20th, 2012

Everytime I've seen Dr. Hughes it was an unscheduled appointment due to issues I was having with my eyes. They always worked me in and Dr. Hughes was awesome. Even allowing me to contact her outside office hours when problems persisted or reoccurred.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2010

Terrific doctor!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 21st, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

September 25th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jane Hughes is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.

  • Dr. Timithy Dunham

    Ophthalmology

    San Antonio, TX 0.19 mi

    3.7
    (10)
    36
  • Dr. Calvin Mein

    Dr. Calvin Mein

    Ophthalmology

    San Antonio, TX 0.23 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    42
  • Dr. Moises Chica

    Dr. Moises Chica

    Ophthalmology

    San Antonio, TX 0.23 mi

    4.7
    (9)
    17