Dr. Jane Hughes MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology San Antonio, TX

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

18 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    83%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    6%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 26.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2016
Good doctor
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Knowledgeable doctor. Nice office and staff. Dr. was out of network with my insurance but the office helped submit the claim to my insurance company. The doctor's fees were fair and reasonable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2016
Skilled doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Skilled eye doctor. Solved my problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2016
Ophthalmologist
I would like to clarify the recent review by a person who has misunderstood my reasons being unwilling to sign a contract with any insurance company to continue being an "in network" provider. The insurance companies have become increasingly intrusive in their attempt to manage the care I render for my patients, most egregiously through mandatory cheap (and many times ineffective) generic drugs with punitive cost differentials. I have lowered all of my fees with a totally transparent fee schedule that is on my website. We have also returned to filing for our patients as an "out-of-network" provider. I render charitable care when needed, and we make payment arrangements. This is not about money, although I do not apologize for my fees which I set with every consideration. This is about my ability to practice state of the art ophthalmologic care for my patients and assume responsibility for their care and healthcare education.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 27th, 2015
If you have unlimited funds and don't need to rely on insurance, go see Jane Hughes
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I appreciate the fact that this doctor performs well, but unfortunately, her attitudes about the good of her patients seems based in her need to make lots of money. She is proud of her work and wants you to pay out of pocket. If you are part of the 1% and can afford medical care without considering cost, She is great! But if you want someone who is working because she wants to help her clients, forget it! Her goal is to make a profit. If she has to be bothered with paperwork that helps you obtain her services… Forget it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2015
Highly recommend!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is so knowledgeable that she can clearly and patiently explain EVERYTHING and answered every question I had--always responded in a timely manner to phoned-in concerns--an amazing woman and an amazing surgeon. The slight demerit on promptness is understandable because she will spend extra time with a patient to assuage his or her fears and concerns. Sometimes it puts her a little behind schedule.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 21st, 2013
Will Never Change Doctors
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been a patient of Dr. Hughes for 25+ years. She has literally saved my eye sight. My highest compliment is that all my family and many friends now see her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2012
impressed
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
smart, personable doctor

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2012
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Everytime I've seen Dr. Hughes it was an unscheduled appointment due to issues I was having with my eyes. They always worked me in and Dr. Hughes was awesome. Even allowing me to contact her outside office hours when problems persisted or reoccurred.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2010
Terrific doctor!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 21st, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
September 25th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jane Hughes, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.