ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jane Piness Is this you?
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
49.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jane Piness?


19 Ratings with 5 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 10th, 2011

GREAT Doctor doesn't compensate for a horrible staff!

My wife transferred here based on their reputation, listing in the "best doctors in dc" and low ratio of rotating doctors. It is true that once you get inside, the doctors are great. Unfortunately, their experience and care is completely overshadowed by an unfriendly staff who is unwilling to be accomodating and incapable of realizing regular patients (especially those who are pregnant) do not like to wait. Average wait with each visit was close to an HOUR - which makes appointment times irrelevant. Staff did not care that each minute meant a higher parking ticket in their garage and additional lost time out of your day. They couldn't comprehend that testing should occur on the same day when their doctor can actually see you. These idiots would actually suggest coming in 3 times a week to get all your work done. I would not recommend this office to anyone and after 2 short months, we are switching again. Luckily there are several other options available within the Virginia Hospital Center.

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 7th, 2010

long wait times for appts.

staff rather than md returns pt phone calls.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2010

Fantanstic OB/GYN

Dr. Piness was outstanding during both of my deliveries--the first an emergency c-section due to a surprise breach presentation and the second, a VBAC, required use of forceps. Baby and recovery were fine in both. The only negative with her practice is that she is so good, you might have to call months in advance to get a well woman appointment--less the staff smirk at you and make you feel stupid for checking availability within a few weeks of the needed time. Note: for initial appointments during pregnancy the wait is not an issue. You still have to deal with the staff though.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 24th, 2009

Great OB GYN who thinks and does not rush you

I'm about to have my third child and was previously with the large practice Dr Piness was in before forming her own, so I've encountered lots of OB's. And, there are lots of great ones at VHC. But I especially appreciate Jane's attention to detail, deep experience level, and ability to both ask serious questions and keep me positive (a 40+ pregnancy mostly spent puking can be an occaisional downer). She is thorough, smart, and no-nonsense. She gets my complicated non-pregnancy related health background and relates it appropriately. Because she is on her own, unexpected deliveries, etc do throw off her schedule. But someday that could be you to whom she's devoting the extra time. Early AM appts are best and the office staff has gotten increasingly better at alerting the waiting room as to what's going on if something is going awry. Sometimes scheduling can seem to take too long, but it's because she is so in demand and they do get it done. In my opinion-and I'm usually totally impatient-any little inconveniences are minor compared to the care and expertise she offers.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 21st, 2009

ratings have gone to their heads

Staff does treat you like they are too busy to spend time on your specific needs. Wait times are ridiculous, when you complain you are made to feel that you are not important to them. Care is great...if you are willing to wait 2-3 months to get on the calender.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 19th, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 5th, 2016

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2015

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2015

5.0 Rating

May 8th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

April 13th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jane Piness is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Damascus, MD.

  • Dr. Susan Smigocki

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Damascus, MD 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    34
  • Dr. Thomas Martin

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatric Pulmonology

    Damascus, MD 0 mi

    4.9
    (11)
    22
  • Dr. Neil Horlick

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Gynecology

    Damascus, MD 0 mi

    4.6
    (11)
    8