Overall Review

3.0
  • 43 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

2.9 (-0.1)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    37%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 24.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2016
A WONDERFUL Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Speer is an OUTSTANDING dr! I have a 25 year old handicap daughter with a fatal genetic disorder. He always takes his time with us, he is very through and professional. He gives my daughter EXCELLENT care. He is very understanding and makes my daughter feel very comfortable. I would highly recommend him to be anyone's Doctor. He is awesome!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 16th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
poor ratings all the way arround,receptionist best job of all
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 21st, 2015
Learned lesson
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I being an older woman believe he is the most arrogant doctor and man I have ever been around. He is even arrogant to children. Money should not be used to pay for such a jerk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 9th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very thoughtful, thorough doctor! Dr. Speer spends time getting to know his patients and their needs. Our entire family uses Dr. Speer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2015
Avoid at all costs!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Takes WEEKS to get information on test results. Office seems incompetent at setting up referral appointments. Was recommended to see a specialist and told I would be contacted with the new appointment date, a MONTH passed with no word. I then called the office and they'd forgotten to set it up. Terrible office to match a terrible doctor. Avoid at all costs!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Takes weeks to get lab results, mri results etc. Shows little concern for patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2015
Consistently Aloof and Indifferent...
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Likely the worst bedside manner that I've ever encountered. Multiple visits with this physician and there were minimal, if any, efforts by him to establish 'good' patient rapport. I understand that family physicians get busy and often don't have the liberty to spend much time with each patient, but Dr. Speer seems to almost go out of his way to avoid establishing a good patient/doctor relationship. I hope that his distant, uncaring demeanor isn't purposely portrayed...but it certainly makes him seem cold and uncaring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Dr. Speer Review
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Speer seemed rude and arrogant. He did not understand part of what I said and seemed to jump to conclusions. He had little understanding and sympathy for how bad I am feeling and did nothing to help me. He was recommended to me and I will never go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 14th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor likes to give Xanex to patients who have had severe epilepsy seizures without any tests to the patient. Not a very thorough doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2013
A Doctor you can trust
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Speers has been my Doctor for the past 5yrs. I know that I can trust him and that he cares for my well being. My wife doesn't like driving from Alabaster to go see him, but when she's really sick, or needs to know what going on, that's when she will go. Again, there are 100's of Doctors that we will drive by and go out of our way just to see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 18th, 2013
Find another doctor if possible
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My grandmother and I both visit Dr. Speer because it's the closest doctor in my area. The main issue that I have is that he spends so little time in the patient's room evaluating that you're forced to visit multiple times because his diagnosis is rarely accurate. As far as I'm aware, he's never been accurate diagnosing my grandmother (who has significant issues with blood pressure and liver enzymes), he constantly changes her medicine which occasionally helps the issue, but more often than not, it exacerbates the problem. When I've visited, he has spent less than 3 minutes in the room with me each time. I rarely have health issues, so he doesn't really need to diagnose anything, but for the amount paid to visit him, the time he spends treating you is significantly low. The only thing I would recommend him for is if you're a healthy student who needs a physical. It will take no time at all because he honestly doesn't check anything. I'm more thorough practicing as a nursing student for a test on my friends than he is evaluating an actual patient who has painful issues. If you want an attractive doctor who doesn't seem to be worth his weight in the medical field, go here. Otherwise, find a doctor who actually cares about your well-being. I've heard the other doctors in the practice are much better than Dr. Speer, even. I've already found another primary doctor, and I anticipate a much better experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jarod Speer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Childersburg, AL.

Doctor

Dr. Shanon Jernigan

12 years experience

2.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Marian St Petery

15 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Swearingen

23 years experience

4.8 of 5