The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jay Carlson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jay Carlson?

Ratings and Reviews

25 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 25 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

March 26th, 2016

Amazing Doctor

Dr. Carlson is the best doctor I have ever been to. I had stage 4 endometriosis and he was able to take care of it and I still can have kids! I am so thankful to him and his staff! They are all amazing and so nice. Would recommend them to anyone!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 28th, 2016

test

good

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2012

Wonderful, caring presence. Dr. Carlson is very knowledgeable about what he does.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2012

i consider dr carlson an excellent dr and i feel assured that he is taking care of my issues.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 13th, 2010

He did not care

Im 29 and was told i had the cancer my obygn sent me to him i admit he was fast acting and after my 1st visit with him i had a full Hysterectomy it got all the cancer he could see and i was in Remiso, How ever due to mine being only stage 1a and grade 2 he didnt show he cared to much i had alot of bad stuff happen with my bowls and he clamed i was making my self sick he judged me. on top of that he didnt show any care for me knowing im only 29 and so badly was seeking to have children and now due to the cancer im unable to have children it was as if he did not care he never once told me i had a choice in my care he just told me what he was going to do and what was next he told me i had to have the surgery he told me i have to have radition but he never put out any choices for me i havent done the radition yet but its as if he was not going to give me a choice or tell me the pros and cons of having that done i dont think he cared about anything how ever he did help save me by taking the tumor out hes good one that one and is the best at what he does but if you need some one to lisitin to you take time for you and care about you he is not the right doctor for you most of all if your young and only stage 1

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2010

Wonderful caring manner; extremely knowledgeable; not arrogant; explains options in detail for treatment; uses terminology a non medical person can understand;

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2010

Confident and caring physician

I was recently diagnosed with uterine cancer and was referred to Dr Carlson. My initial visit was at the end of his workday and he took almost 40 minutes to explain treatment options in addition to the physical examination that was performed that same day. He carefully reviewed his recommendations with me, then offered to refer me to a second physician in the city if I wanted another opinion. Needless to say, his assessment of my situation and recommendation for care was absolutely correct. My surgery lasted 4 1/2 hours but all lymph nodes were negative and I didn't require additional chemo or radiation. I am now 6 months out from my surgery, and have had thorough followup from Dr Carlson and his partners. Dr Carlson is a confident and caring physician who strongly believes in treating patients aggressively to provide them with the best possible outcome. He would rather refer a patient to another physician as opposed to providing care that may result in a recurrence of cancer in the future.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

August 24th, 2009

Knows what he's doing but doesn't care

I felt like I didn't matter as much as the other patients since my cancer was level one. I feel like i did not have ALL of my options laid out in front of me before i decided to have a total hysterectomy at the age of 23.My new onologist would not have done that to me and now i can not have any children.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 11th, 2009

This doctor is an excellent caring individual/doctor. He makes you feel like he cares about your health is not a robot in handling your situation. The most important value of this doctor is he is very upfront and does not hold anything back.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 2nd, 2008

Excellent Caring Doctor

I think very highly of Dr. Carlson. Within a week of diagnosis of endometrial cancer I had completed pre surgical tests and saw Dr. Carlson. surgery was within a week of that visit. The treatment protocal worked well and I felt all along that Dr. Carlson cared about me and my healing. I highly recommend him to any women diagnosed with a reproductive cancer.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 20th, 2017

3.0 Rating

August 5th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jay Carlson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Springfield, MO.

  • Dr. James Bosscher

    Gynecologic Oncology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Springfield, MO 0 mi

    4.2
    (34)
    37
  • Dr. Marcia Hernandez

    Gynecologic Oncology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Springfield, MO 0 mi

    3.0
    (5)
    5
  • Dr. Andrea Greiner

    Maternal and Fetal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Springfield, MO 0.17 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    15