The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jay Doostan Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 9 Comments

2.5
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 12

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jay Doostan?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

The Worse Doctor

Posted on June 28th, 2014

I went to him couple of days ago for the first time. I should have read the previous review about him. It’s true. He is an old angry man. I would not even go as far as calling him a doctor. They don’t turn on the A.C. in order for the office to save some money. The girls that are running the office were ok. The doctor has a bad attitude. I guess has does not need new patient. Lessen to all the people and don’t go to this guy. He is bad!!!!!!!!!!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

HORRIBLE!!

Posted on July 3rd, 2012

Awful all around. Cleaniness awful. Doctor awful. Receptionist Awful. Nurse Awful. Care and level of professionalism AWFUL.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 8th, 2012

Not sure where all the bad reviews are coming from...Dr. Doostan has been my PCP for over ten years. He is a very friendly, caring and even funny man. My wife also enjoys his professional, yet personal attention. If there are any things to improve, it would be the service from his receptionist. He has had several over the years and they might be the cause of some of the criticisms on this site. The only other thing would be his hours. He does seem to arrive late and leave early, but within that window, I have never had any troubles getting a same-day appointment and the wait time is seldom more than 5 minutes. It is a small operation - just him and an assistant/receptionist - but if you want fairly quick service and a friendly doctor, Jay is your man.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 6th, 2011

Mean, rude, yelled at me and said, "You are not a doctor so stop talking and I will tell you what is what is wrong with you! when I was telling him my symptoms.Bad listener..don't go to this man.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst Doctor Ever

Posted on October 14th, 2010

When my chest was hurting one night, his service refused to put me through, or even take a message, telling me to go to ER. The next morning I called the office and asked for DR to call me. At 2PM finally went to ER, Dr. called me at 3pm. After $5,000 at the ER, found I had a virus. He never called again to see how I was. He should be barred from practicing medicine.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

RUDE EVIL DOCTOR

Posted on September 18th, 2010

I was a new patient and when I got there he said he was rushing and had to leave. I thought he was joking but he said no i'm leaving then he said fine fill this paper out as I was speed writing he said just come in and you can fill it out after I leave. While trying to tell him what my symptoms were the assistant came in and said my insurance card had the wrong effective date, I had a letter from the insurance company with the right date but he said "NO" you have to leave i don't care about your letter and I'm not calling to check. When I told him i was going to file a report he said go ahead he did not care He was really rude!!! Doctors are suppose to care and he could care less if you are dying

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

horrible experience, never go back

Posted on February 2nd, 2010

I was referred by a DR at Cedars and had new insurance. I needed a referral for a cardiogolist for a serious heart condition and the Dr started to become argumentative with me and the Dr that referred me over the phone? After He was done and said he was 100% correct he said I'm done , I have other patients, without checking my heart, b/p, pulse , nothing whatsoever. I demanded he ck me out. His assistance fixed the referral problem thirty minutes on the phone w/cedars and he was 100% WRONG. don't go and see this Dr, I'm not going back

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Recommended doctor

Posted on May 30th, 2009

A very nice man. I was referred to him so I could get "tuned up" before getting surgery with (Dr. Dunkleman at Cedars Sinai), and I'm going to continue seeing him regularly as my MD. (He came in earlier than his staff to see me, so I didn't meet her yet, but she was accomodating on the phone.)

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Caring Doc

Posted on April 30th, 2009

When my insurance changed to Blue Cross in 2003, I was referred by a friend to this doctor, who is located walking distance from me. (I used to have Kaiser through my work, but changed jobs.) I've found him to be very nice and patient, and willing to answer all my questions, so I've continued to see Jay, and my wife has been happy with him as well. When I ran out of my inhalers and lisinopril last month, I was able to reach Jay through his answering service (on a weekend) and he called in my prescriptions. He also called me 2 days later to make sure things were OK. I've referred him to others as well. Thanks!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 27th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on November 2nd, 2016

One Star

Posted on July 5th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jay Doostan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near North Hollywood, CA.