The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jay Matut Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jay Matut?

Endometriosis

Endometriosis

Get the facts about endometriosis, including symptoms and parts of the body that may be affected.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jay Matut?

Ratings and Reviews

16 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 16 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 9th, 2016

Great Doctor for Years

I have been a patient of Dr. Matut's since I was in my early 20's he has always been considerate and always been professional to me. No matter what my situiation he has guided me to be the best option and has always taken the time to explain the full situaiton to me and why he is choosing his course of action. He has never steered me wrong and has always been kind to me. I have been his patient for over 20 years now. He is a great doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 1st, 2016

Do not recommend

I was rushed into a C-section and was treated rudely; no time was spent explaining choices or options or even implications of C-section. Eye-rolling and unprofessional behaviours when I asked questions. Look elsewhere .

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 4th, 2016

He tried to railroad me into a c-section and snapped at me when I asked questions. Scary, miserable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 1st, 2010

I would not recommend this doctor

This doctor was unprofessional and somewhat belligerent. It was obvious that he was not listening to me as I tried to explain why I was there. I would not recommend this doctor .

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 26th, 2010

Extremely poor bedside mannar

During a prenatal visit, I asked two questions. He made me feel each one was a ridiculous question to ask and that I was wasting his time. Other doctors I'd seen previously in this practice spent 15-20 minutes engaging in talk about my babies health and upcoming birth. Dr. Matut was very abrupt, bordering on rude. I had a quite serious medical condition that needed to be discussed but I left his office without even bringing it up. Extremely disappointing.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 28th, 2010

Did not take the time to review my medical history before prescribing medication. Felt like an inconvenience rather than a patient and had a vague sense that this doctor would rather be somewhere else than discussing treatment and follow-up options. Front office staff can be unprofessional, disorganized.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 5th, 2009

WARNING! Dr. Matut did not catch a life-threatening condition or follow up with us at all.

Dr. Jay Matut and his office failed to find an obvious heart condition with our child while he was still in utero, nor did he ever follow up after the birth in any way.Our child was born with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, a condition that by the account of ALL doctors and nurses that we have spoken to is specifically tested for during pregnancy. Our first indication of it was when our baby began to turn blue 20 minutes after his birth. Not only did Matut fail to find it in the scan, but he never followed up with us either to check on our child or the condition of his mother post C-Section.We cannot warn you strongly enough about avoiding this doctor.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2009

Great Ob and Gyn

Always caring, answered all my questions, gave me options for treatment. Best overall doctor experience I've had in NYC.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 19th, 2009

Dr .matut is an excellent gyn doctor one of the BEST!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

July 10th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

May 14th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

January 9th, 2015

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jay Matut is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Yonkers, NY.

  • Dr. Avishai Alkalay

    Maternal and Fetal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Yonkers, NY 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (18)
    14
  • Dr. Robert Armbruster

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Yonkers, NY 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (22)
    40
  • Dr. Joshua Waldman

    Dr. Joshua Waldman

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Yonkers, NY 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (50)
    23