Overall Review

4.0
  • 42 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.4)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Wait Time 15.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2016
All patients deserve respect but Dr. Redan doesn't seem to agree
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience with Dr. Redan was not a good one. I did not self-refer but was referred to him by another doctor who believed I may need surgery to explore and maybe treat escalating symptoms I have been experiencing. He was very condescending to me and my mom. He was patronizing and talked to us like we were stupid when it came to my medical condition, issues and the reason I came to see him. When we tried to discuss things with him, he dismissed everything we said and tried to make us feel stupid for saying them, making sure to point out, "That's why I'm the doctor." He then recommended a blood test which we were told would be given to me free of charge, totally at his cost, out of the goodness of his own heart because he cares so much, which is a whole other issue right there, but when we researched the blood test, it seems it has little to no scientific backing, is not considered valid by multiple major medical centers and experts around the world and its use is recommended against because doctors who use it are misinterpreting the results leading to wrong treatment of patients. His nurse herself told us all the staff had to do the blood test and she said she came back positive for several things, has since altered her diet and said "I think I'm feeling better now." Not much of a selling point if you ask me and it seems that the staff is maybe even being forced to take it and try to sell its supposed benefits to the patient. He did send over a request for me to have a study done, which I got the feeling was only to shut me up rather than because he believed I really needed it and it would reveal anything, and I may have it done at some point, but it will be through another doctor if I do because I don't want the follow-up for it to be with Dr. Redan who is going to talk down to me and all but call me stupid again. I also didn't like the way we were told Dr. Redan doesn't do in-person follow-up to tests he has you undergo. He does it by phone. What if I miss the call? Does he even make the call or will it be a nurse? And what if I have questions or concerns? I struggled to get answers and be taken seriously in person. I can only imagine how I would be dismissed over the phone. I think Dr. Redan's high opinion of himself was all too evident in his endless displays of himself around the office and the way he spoke to me and my mom. I'm sure he is a talented surgeon, but his bedside manner and concern for patients as human beings and not just dollar signs or another notch on his medical belt need serious improvement. Perhaps if I had been dying or suffering from a life-threatening condition he would have treated me and my mom better and taken me more seriously, but in my opinion, every patient regardless of how serious he perceives their condition to be should be treated with kindness and respect. Apparently Dr. Redan doesn't agree, even when the patient was referred to them by a fellow physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2016
Poor Attitude by Office Staff....
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went in for my initial meeting. Things went well with PA and Doctor. They said they could accommodate my schedule. But when I called I was told they only do procedures on Mondays. They told me other wise. Now to find a new doctor. Poor communications. How would you be treated when in the operating room????
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Achalasia
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.redan is by far the worst surgeon. He had to do two surgeries on me and left me worse then I was before I met him. He couldn't admit that he didn't know what he was doing and I had to seek another surgeon and get a third surgery because of all of his mess ups. My new surgery was a success by a differen surgeon. This surgeon couldn't believe how doctor redan left me! Horrible work and can not admit his faults. Advise strongly to go somewhere else!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 24th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Redan has performed 3 surgeries on me assisted with now retired Dr. Harry Reich. He has wonderful bedside manners and brings much needed adhesion experience to his patients. He truly cares about his patients. I live in NH and travel to him for my adhesion surgeries.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2013
Go somewhere else for Hernia Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did hernia surgery on me early 2011. Had pain ever since the surgery. Found out 5 months ago that the repair failed. 2 other surgeons think the hernia failed soon after the org. surgery. Dr. Redan would never admit to that. It is also questionable is the method of repair he used on me. From what I understand someone else in the community where I live had 2 hernia surgeries fail.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2013
Great Doc and awesome surgeon.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Uses the best technology for surgery! Quick recovery for procedure!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2011
Dr. Redan is extremely frirndly , professsional , and caring
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Most pleasant Dr. I have ever met. Very professional and understanding of people. I was waiting in the operating room prep area , the staff informed me that Dr. Redan was running behind because of an emergency. A short time later Dr. Redan himself came put to personally and professionaly apologize. I was amazed and so thankful to have found a Dr. That has care for his patients. And he does it all with a smile , a kind word and a great sense of humor .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2011
Absolutely Fantastic.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Redan by my general physician. I walked in on a Tuesday afternoon 3 days after Christmas. Every appointment was booked, but Dr. Redan still took me because of the concerns that I was having. I've never had a Doctor do that EVER. I was having issues with (what I thought) were hemorrhoids. After being told that they were not (and giving me a few other options as to what it could be), Dr. Redan suggested surgery for me. Fast forward 3 weeks later to the surgery, Dr. Redan met with me as did his staff before that procedure, and he informed me of everything that I was going to experience. Additionally, he addressed all of the questions that my parents asked, and took the time to meet with me immediately after the surgery. His office staff is great with following up on appointments, and I will recommend him to everyone I know. Yes, his humor is a little dry, but he was the first doctor to CORRECTLY diagnose my problems after two Doctors had failed to do so prior to my visit with Dr. Redan. He's a lifesaver, and I can't thank him enough for everything he did for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2010
Dr. Redan is a wonderfully skilled surgeon!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came to Dr. Redan a year ago with abdominal pain that had been misdiagnosed for years. After one short office visit he diagnosed my problem as a stricture in my colon. I flew in from out of state thinking I would had a short stay and laprascopic surgery. He discovered quickly that I need a much more invasive surgery...which he performed. I am thrilled to report that I have had an entire year of NO PAIN and Dr. Redan solved my problem once and for all! I am eternally grateful for his (and his staff's) excellent service. I would highly recommend Dr. Redan as a trustworthy surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 16th, 2010
See a Shrink
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Redan is a talented yet insensitive and callus in his bedside manner. After my removal of adhesions operation I was told that my findings and my symptoms did not match and that I needed to see a Shrink, I agreed that if the pain did not go away I would seek help. Post operative healing went well and I never got the terrible abdominal pain back. It appears that we are not all like the text book teaches...No need to see a Shrink.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2009
Dry But Good
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Redans no messing approach inspires confidence, his dry humor helps with the stress and pain. A1 surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 17th, 2009
GREAT doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had undergone multiple surgeries and did not find success until going to Dr. Redan. He knew what was wrong with me after getting misdiagnosed by many other physicians. After my surgery he called me multiple times to check up on me. Even on a holiday! He made himself readily available to me if I had any questions. I couldn't say enough positive about him and his skill as a surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jay Redan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Kissimmee, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Stefoni Stratton

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Mazhar Nawaz

40 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Helen Kraus

35 years experience

3.2 of 5