The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jay Saunders Is this you?
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jay Saunders?


11 Ratings with 9 Comments

4.0 Rating

November 10th, 2016

Thank you Doc.

Dr. Saunders has seen my daughter since she was 1 year and 1/2 old, now she is 12 years old. She had bad asthma we end up in the hospital when she was 4 month old, since we move to his office we haven't visit the hospital for this issue anymore. And I'm very grateful as a mother because my child has a condition that is very well controlled.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 21st, 2016

Examen fisical

This doctor Jay Saunder is a great Doctor he always have the patience to explain all kind of issues of health problems my kids going through. I recommend to my friend's and family he is the doctor I have been looking for. My kids love him. I like the way he explain to me about the situation and gives the right solution. And I like his ethics.also he is available 24 hours seven days a week. He is also caring with you and your kids. He treats you well. I love it it's the right place to. And he's the right Doctor to see,and also gives good recommendations for all your problems

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 19th, 2016

n/a

Very courteous staff!! The doctor was very nice, even got a few fresh croissants! Awesome doctor, always makes my kids laugh, and I can always trust him to know what's best!!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 24th, 2016

Woud not recommend

He stood us up. We called made an appointment and when we showed up there was NO one there. When we called to ask where he was he said he had something come up the day before and could we wait 45 more minutes. He admitted to us there was no attempt at contact to let us know the change in appointment time. I had driven over an hour to get to the appointment and his office was in a shady part of town. EXTREMELY unprofessional.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2016

Dr. Saunders, is warm and carring. He wants to make everyone feel at home. He explains everything. He is an excellent diagnostician. Everyone knows the children get hershy's kisses when they say the magic words abra cadabra please and thankyou.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 22nd, 2015

He is the nastiest old man I've ever been around!!! He talks to people including his staff like garbage, he should consider retiring. I think it's time!!!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 13th, 2015

Not a patient, but...

... I just had to speak on the phone with this man, and I feel sorry for anyone who uses him as a doctor. An insurance card was found in the lobby of my office, and Dr. Saunders was listed as the PCP along with a phone number. I called it, and was greeted very brusquely by the doctor himself. (I expected the number to be to his office.) I explained the situation and asked if his office would be able to contact the patient who had lost the card to let him know we had hit. His answer was, after a deep sigh, "Look, call back after 1:00 or just mail it to us." I agreed and asked for the address to mail it to. He gave me the street address, but then didn't say what town it was in. (Mind you, I'd never heard of him before and the phone number that was listed did not have a Newburgh exchange that I'm familiar with.) I asked him if the address was in Newburgh, and his answer was, "Well, yes, it's Newburgh, of course!" VERY rude. I said, "Well, I'm not familiar with your office, so I didn't know where you were located," to which he responded, "Listen, if I say I'm in Newburgh, I'm in Newburgh, okay? Believe me!" I couldn't get off the phone with this man quickly enough, and I wouldn't use him as a doctor if my life depended on it. I pray for those who have to deal with him on a regular basis.

1.0 Rating

January 24th, 2012

Horrible doctor...read up on this guy before you even THINK of walking into his office!

Complete alarmist, orders unnecessary tests, inaccurate (to say the least) book keeping, all of which he has been previously investigated for in mulit ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 27th, 2009

WATCH OUT!!!!!

Getting an appointment and the wait time in the waiting room was quite easy. Dr. Saunders takes in excess of 1.5 - 2 hours PER client, you will be there forever!!! He has a reputation amongst his peers and around the County as being an alarmist. Dr. Saunders pushed the 'panic button' with my child's diagnosis resulting in her being brought to Westchester Medical for an EMERGENCY evaluation for a condition that was addressed with a $5 over-the-counter bottle of medicine. Dr. Saunders has been investigated not only for the above mentioned disciplinary action, but was also investigated in another state for Insurance Fraud. His receptionist is VERY nice but his treatment of her in front of his patients is quite poor. I was embarassed for her. Use caution when determining wither or not to use this doctor. NOT RECOMMENDED!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

February 8th, 2016

1.0 Rating

December 14th, 2010

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jay Saunders is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newburgh, NY.

  • Dr. Wai Lau

    Dr. Wai Lau

    Pediatrics

    Newburgh, NY 0.18 mi

    4.8
    (23)
    28
  • Dr. Abida Mallick

    Pediatrics

    Newburgh, NY 1.35 mi

    4.0
    (23)
    33
  • Dr. Anna Piotrowski

    Dr. Anna Piotrowski

    Pediatrics

    Newburgh, NY 1.38 mi

    4.6
    (27)
    45