Dr. Jed Vanichkachorn MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine Richmond, VA

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (+ 0.2)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    35%
  • Satisfied
    18%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    41%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 14.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 27th, 2016
Upset
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What I can say is that Dr Van is a good doctor and well respected but I can't say so much about his office staff. I was denied surgery last year on the day before surgery, but my suspicion is leaning on the staff not sending in my paperwork to the insurance company on time. And right now I am having problems with staff returning phone calls. Dr Van is alright though. I believe he saved my 'adopted' mother some 8 years ago.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 14th, 2016
Disappointed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do yourself a favor and see someone else, unless you don't mind suffering...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 12th, 2016
Very Disatisfied
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Mr. Van should not even be called a doctor. His bedside manner is awful, because he does not follow up. He and his staff don't complete necessary paperwork, don't send necessary information for ordered tests, and it's impossible to get him to respond to a problem. His solution is to refer to another doctor and his staff will tell you, we only do surgeries, it's up to someone else to fix problems that Van should be fixing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 4th, 2015
Dr. Van's Nurse Never Returns Calls
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My mother recently had a spinal cord stimulator put in by Dr. Van. She has had the WORST experience afterwards, due to Dr. Van's staff/nurse NOT returning multiple phone calls. For a surgery patient to have to wait almost TWO DAYS to be called back is BEYOND unacceptable. We will NEVER recommend Tuckahoe Ortho to anyone. And if we could find a way to rate Dr. Van's nurse alone, we'd be giving her a 0 out of 5. So Unimpressed with the follow-up care, I cannot even explain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2013
never again
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What dr operates on a patient and hasn't yet to have a follow up with his patient.. pushes you off on his staff. Surgery was over a month ago.. regret ever dealing with this dr.. (Dr.Van) dr vanichkachorn... *** definitely has no bedside manner...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 13th, 2013
Used Physician Assistant to meet with patients
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had 3 appointments with Dr Vanichkachorn. The first one I knew the PA would talk to me because the doctor was not available for 6 weeks. After my MRI it was I that contacted the staff after not hearing about the results after 8 days. I was able to see the doctor 3 weeks later and he prescribed injections. After the injections series, I was told to make an appointment with the doctor before I could receive anymore. I specifically requested an appointment with DR Van, but saw another PA. The PA had not reviewed my records or MRI. It was time WASTED and I spent$40 copay. PA wrote a script for more injections and pain management doc said NO CAN DO for 3 more months.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Van was able to help me when few others in town could do anything for my complicated case. He is an exceptional surgeon who sat down, spent time with me and made sure I knew what my options were. I highly recommend him to anyone needing spine surgery
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2010
Dr. Van is my hero!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van took me on when I was referred to him by another spine surgeon who couldn't figure out what to do with me and gave up. I was in excrutiating pain and was quickly headed for a wheel chair. Dr. Van figured out a plan for me which significantly reduced my pain and I no longer see a wheelchair in my future. His compassion coupled with his professionalism are unmatched in my previous experiences with quite a few other spine specialists.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jed Vanichkachorn, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Richmond, VA.

Doctor

Dr. Colin Mudrick

8 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jason Hull

18 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Paul Caldwell

18 years experience

4.6 of 5