Dr. Jefferson Sommers MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry North Chesterfield, VA

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.5)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    74%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 28.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2016
I found his directness, very helpful and something you don't find often. Creates in one question, reason, thought, and you work on answer, I liked that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 4th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Never saw the doctor, he is NOT accepting new patients. Receptionist was extremely rude!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 7th, 2015
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
as is so often the case, I love the doctor but hate the long wait to check in and check out and the wait for the doctor is interminable, made worse by a constantly crowded waiting room.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2015
arrogant doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor thinks he is Gods gift to psychiatry. He seems like he has a darker side than his patients and seems to be VERY money hungry.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Extremely dissatified
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible bedside manner and refused to return any of my phone calls
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 24th, 2012
very caring
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor always let's me talk without rushing me.new office waiting room is much nicer. Staff knows and calls me by name and are pleasant. Don't know why others are complaining
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very attentive, caring and knowledgable
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
May 9th, 2011
Love the doc, hate the staff AND the waiting room!
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sommers is an outstanding doctor,but I really dread appointments with him. His waiting room is TINY and tv is always on with the volume turned way up. I try to sit out in the hallway whenever possible. The folks that check you in and check you out have zero personality and act as though they couldn't care less if you ever came back. And the wait time is at least half an hour, sometimes significantly longer. I understand that docs occasionally have emergencies that push appointments back. But EVERYtime indicates a systemic problem.

1.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2011
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
office staff lacking, dr disinterested, no good fit

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2010
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While Dr. Sommers is a cut above other psychiatrists, the office atmosphere is very discouraging, depressing, and embarassing. Staff rudeness appears to be acceptable. While the majority of patients with mental illness would prefer to remain somewhat anonymous, they are crammed in a tiny waiting room with a steady line of patients checking in and out, having to turn sideways to allow them to pass by. The patient is then paraded through the middle of the office staff, who readily display a lack of care for the patients or show any pride or professionalism in their job. A competent office manager is needed for the employees, and an in-depth look into the discomforts of patients by the below standard staff and facility should be conducted by the owners. Right now, no one, cares about the comfort, both physically and emotionally, of the patient. Money is the biggest concern there, not the patient. I left the practice because of this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2008
What a change in my life
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have many problems. I found reassurance and a feeling of calmness and safety during my med-check times with him. He does not question what my therapist talk about, but just confirms that I am going. He is extremely careful about the medication he prescribes. He explains in great detail how the medication works during brain activity. I am so blessed that he is in my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 15th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jefferson Sommers, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near North Chesterfield, VA.