The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jeffrey Carlsen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jeffrey Carlsen?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jeffrey Carlsen?

Ratings and Reviews

46 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    23
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    12
  • Excellent
    23
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    12

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
40 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 46 Ratings with 10 Comments

4.0 Rating

March 15th, 2016

Eyelid Reconstruction

Had reconstruction on my lower eyelid after MOHS surgery for a basal cell carcinoma. He took a graft from my upper eyelid, and I am happy with my results. He also did several steroid injections to improve the appearance of the graft post-op, and they helped. I never had to wait very long past my appointment time, and also didn't have a problem getting in to see him. I would go back to him again if I needed another similar procedure. I didn't have any problem with his bedside manner at all.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 5th, 2015

Terrible Experience to visit this doctor

Waited for several months for an appointment with Dr. Carlsen and waiting for about three hours to see him in the room. Then he spent 5 minutes or even less with us and gave a prescription that is totally different from another doctor's. Now I don't know if we should trust him. Very terrible experience.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 30th, 2015

Total disrespect of patient's time.

I had to wait over 1.5 hours to see the doctor past by scheduled appointment time.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 30th, 2015

I found this doctor to be very rude and arrogant.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2015

Would choose another less arogant dr if we had another chance. But we dont.

Almost uncaring about outcome of surgery he did on my husbands eye to straighten the eyes focus. After surgery I commented about the crooked gaze of the eye. He said, Oh really, let me see! then looked at the eye after surgery and said ,"oh i thought it would be straighter"

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 17th, 2015

Extremely full of himself and doesn't listen at all. Extremely RUDE!!! Would never recommend. Has no respect for patients' opinion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 14th, 2015

Very rude to kids with disabilities

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 7th, 2015

he is a great doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 9th, 2012

I had upper and lower eyelid surgery. Great results!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 18th, 2012

Horrible!!!!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jeffrey Carlsen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Johnson City, TN.

  • Dr. Michael Shahbazi

    Dr. Michael Shahbazi

    Ophthalmology

    Johnson City, TN 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    32
  • Dr. Alan Mccartt

    Dr. Alan Mccartt

    Ophthalmology

    Johnson City, TN 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    35
  • Dr. Amy Young

    Dr. Amy Young

    Ophthalmology

    Johnson City, TN 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (3)
    27