The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jeffrey Chavin Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jeffrey Chavin?

Clinical Depression

Clinical Depression

Get the facts about clinical depression, including the symptoms and related depressive disorders.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jeffrey Chavin?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
18.8 min

Showing 23 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2015

Excellent physician

Dr. Chavin accurately diagnosed my MS very quickly and his commitment to my treatment has kept me nearly symptom free for 9 years. He is consistently thoughtful during my appointments and takes a lot of time to explain the various Pharma trials and advancements so I have a full picture of how research is progressing in the fight against MS.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

April 19th, 2015

Kind, dedicated and professional

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 22nd, 2013

Dr. Chavin was the first neurologist who took the time to listen to my symptoms and accurately diagnose my condition. He is empathetic, compassionate and thorough beyond belief. He is the best doctor I have ever seen.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 15th, 2013

I agree with the others - stay away!

It worries me to know that he is teaching junior doctors at new england medical center. What a horrible role model he must be. He makes you feel as though you are really putting him out just by showing up for an appointment. He rolls his eyes at you and shows his impatience. How is he still employed at such a great institution? Please - Tufts - you can do better than this guy!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2011

MG patient

EXCELLENT NEUROLOGIST. The BEST, in my opinion.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 27th, 2011

Dr. Chavin is excellent

I'm not sure why others are giving him bad reviews. He diagnosed my MS back in 1999....i went from relapsing remitting MS to BENIGN because of his care and concern. He always followed up with me and I live my life to the fullest because of his treatment and care. I never have waited more than 10 minutes in the wwaiting room...he calls for MRI's and other tests every two years since I've been benign to make sure the disease is staying at bay. He's funny and had a bit of a dry sense of humor. I would highly recommend him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 28th, 2011

No answers,rude

My overall feeling was he was dismissive,arrogant and condescending.While he was thorough testing wise.I felt like he thought I was making my symptoms up, he even said he was not sure my pain wasn't unlike the pain we all feel at one time or another . Really,would I waste my time or his if I didn't feel like this was unusual? Not going back,that's for sure.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2010

unethical , sneaky, not very intelligent doctor

I went to see Chavin per a review from my diabetes doctor. I had had uncontrolled diabetes for a number of years and chavin was supposed to deal with neuropathy. He made many many mistakes about my medical history and my symptoms in my record that he put me in medical danger. So I politely asked him to correct these mistakes. He refused and said because I wanted correct records he would 'abandon' me as a patient even though I had pressing medical needs, including a new cancer diagnosis. He reminded me of someone who bought rather than earned his medical degree. My complaints against him are pending.

Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 15th, 2010

Just an opinion

It's hard to accurately grade a doctor as far as knowledge goes. So I'll give him the benefit of my own lack of formal medical training and say he might know what he's talking about.However, Dr. Chavin is arrogant and dismissive. Which leads me to believe (this is my own unvalidated opinion) that such an attitude prohibits consideration for new treatments and opinions.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2008

hostile and arrogant

at all costs stay away. this extreme ego has no room for your input. he is rude and seems to have the problems he studies...pain and suffering.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 29th, 2016

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jeffrey Chavin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Boston, MA.

  • Dr. Simone Devito

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Boston, MA 0 mi

    2.3
    (3)
    14
  • Dr. Malini Neramballi

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Boston, MA 0 mi

  • Dr. Pamela Follett

    Child Neurology, Neurology

    Boston, MA 0 mi

    21