inactive

Jeffrey H DeClaire MD Patient Reviews

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Review

3.7
  • 52 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.1)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    54%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Wait Time 41 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2016
The Best
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
came to Dr. DeClaire after having a Doctor that was trying to preform medicine but only knew how to practice and not to good at that.....Dr. DeClaire now was me walking with little fear of falling.....and my good knee is next in line this spring...and I know Dr. DeClaire will be doing it......
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 13th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Declaire did a knee replacement and left me with an incurable blood infection. I will be on antibiotics for the rest of my life. Another surgery is not an option due to my age. The surgery caused me constant pain and limited use of my leg. Choose another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 6th, 2016
Great Doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. DeClaire. Best Knee Surgeon in the world. He truly cares about his patients. Dr. DeClair's staff is just as caring as he is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 20th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Well worth the wait, waiting room spacious, thermal carafes always refilled with coffee even de-caf. Three large screen tv,s. The protocols are unique and excellent, x-rays and all sorts of testnother doctors do not understand. Exam room nice leather chairs. Awesome man and wonderful doctor today I have hope for my future of the knees, thought it could go to an above the knee amputation. No way he told me. Was having probs. with Norco hydrocodone and addicting he renewed script and gave me tramadol , also controlled substance but not very addicting. The superb Dr. works out of crit. hosp, in Rochester, Mi. Beautiful rooms,large screen tv for a hospital think 27 in., 80 ch cable superb food, coffee excellent, not so at nurses area. The Rochester newspaper is brought up daily, not published Sat. rooms are always clean, at night it is a quiet hospital. T
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Go Elsewhere
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One was the worst decision of my life. I was functioning better with my old arthritic knee. I received a partial over a year ago. The technical part of the replacement I can't fault (I guess), the scar is negligible but the recovery a nightmare. After consulting a 2nd ortho. surgeon I discovered I should have had a full. So now I am facing a 2nd surgery - but not by him. The hospital stay was a nightmare, I was passed over for physical therapy so the therapist had to come to my room & quickly whisked me outside into the stair well & had me climb a flight of stairs up and down. She had no business taking me outside the floor in the first place. This was 24 hours after surgery. I went home in screaming pain & had to switch to Norco the next day. Went to therapy a few days later and almost passed out. It was the wrong knee and it took my body over a year to recover & adapt. I am still in pain because the partial is jacking up one side and the other side of my knee is having more wear & tear as a result. I go to the gym 4-5 times a week & weigh about 130 lbs. so this was totally a messed up disaster. I feel the whole practice is an assembly line.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 27th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The wait is always long, but he is so thorough and explains and very compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It takes along time to get ahold of anyone when to call for any information. They call you back sooner or later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2014
Knee Replacement patient
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I underwent a TKR in 2010 with Dr, DeClaire. I awoke in my room with severe pins & needle pain in my foot which was a result of nerve damage during surgery. The staff at Crittendon was wonderful but the follow up by DeClaire is shameful. He does not see you in follow up appointments, always seen by a PA. Therefore he is not aware of the problems incurred by his patients. I am 4 years out and I am having instability in my knee replacement. I have to wait almost a month to be seen by another ortho dr. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere and do your homework before having this surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 1st, 2014
Rating for Dr. Declaire |& Crittendon hospital
Doctor Declaire is always late. When I had my appt. with Declaire, I asked that I have a Zimmer knee, which is for women, that never happened, the knee I have is larger than the other knee and ugly. After I had surgery I had a fever and was sent home in a 11/2 days, I came home with an infection in the knee, it took two days of calling his office to finally receive a call to go back to the hospital with a cellulitis infection. The treatment at Crittenden hospital was horrible, I was there for 6 days and could write a book on what went on , I was never so glad to go home. My knee has never improved, I am scheduled to see another Doctor that deals with a new replacement. Pain has never left me. The rehab treatment at Declaire's center was a disgrace, the average time I was there was 21/2 hours always waiting, This was a nightmare.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 16th, 2014
SURELY A GOOD SURGEON
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I saw this surgeon years ago for knee replacement. I was set for surgery BUT the office scheduled me for an MRI when I could not have an MRI due to metal in my knee. so, a huge glitch. on top of the MRI issue the hospital caled em and said the office never gave them my insurance info so I would have to pay for the MRI. so, I canceled he surgery, too much hassles and mistakes on the paper work end of things. still, I feel the doctor is a fine surgeon but the office is a huge burr in the process. I had to have a CT scan but they scheduled me for an MRI; incredible mistakes. I still would deal with Dr. DeClaire but for me I'm probably too far off the mark now to have a knee replacement.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 13th, 2013
Dot your "i's" and cross your "t's"
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I had heard Dr. DeClaire is a good surgeon. However, I tried to make an appt in Sept and was told I couldn't see him until Dec. I could however see his PA in Oct. On my original phone call I gave the person who scheduled the appt my insurance company info. At my appt in Oct I gave my drivers lic and insurance card. I went to that appt, xrays were done and the PA diagnosed I needed a partial knee replacement and scope the other knee. I was shuffled off to the surgical scheduler who scheduled my surgery for Dec. I never once saw Dr. DeClaire. I was sent for an MRI to have the prosthetic manufactured. I was called several times about other items regarding the surgery. 3 weeks before the surgery, I received a call stating from the billing dept at Dr. DeClaire's office that since I was out of network, I would have to pay my out of network ded and copays. Needless to say, I was amazed no one had EVER said Dr. DeClaire didn't participate with my insurance company. I looked at my EOB for the office visit and they had used a different doctor for the office visit which was in the network. Long story short, I cancelled the surgery, was told it was my fault for not checking my insurance first and was left with a bitter taste for this doctor's tactics. He may be a very good surgeon, I will never know, but a little honesty would go a long way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 15th, 2013
patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very concerned for his patients. Takes time to talk and explain procedures. He is excellent with controlling pain intra operatively and post operatively. I personally witnessed this due to being a recovery room R.N. taking care of his patients post op. That is one of the reasons I chose him to be my orthopedic doctor when I had knee problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No