Dr. Jeffrey Gefter MD Patient Reviews

  • Radiation Oncology Chattanooga, TN

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.3)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    64%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    27%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 41.2 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2013
Still alive since '95
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife is a surgical nurse and researched the oncologists and surgeons for treatment. Dr. Gefter's patients most common complaint that I witnessed was long waits beyond appointment time. This is true. The reason being was that in his profession there are often patients with emergent care needs and he usually spent 1-2 HOURS with me (and most other patients) being thorough and incredibly compassionate. I had a pretty complicated case with a large tumor directly behind my heart. He was very detailed in the process of simulation, which is using x-ray to determine the dosage and construction of the shielding to be used in treatment. Suzie was the receptionist during my treatment and follow ups and is one of the kindest people I know. I recommend Dr. Gefter without any reservation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Geftner was one of the kindest and most compassionate Drs. I have ever dealt with. He was encouraging, thoughtful and always kind. I was going through a divorce during my cancer and very stressed. He was very supportive and his staff was as well. He rallied people around me and checked on me often,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2013
Does not call patients to remind or reschedule
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Gefter and he did a great job for me with breast cancer. However, his staff needs improvement! They do NOT call to remind of appointments, and worse, they mail out reschedules very late so that you have no say in the matter, and even worse, the letter arrives AFTER you have wasted $8 in gas driving down there and back! From now on my surgeon will do my followups.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 28th, 2012
Dr. Gefter
Wait time
60.0 minutes
I was refered by Dr. Singh because I had prostate cancer and of course was going to have to have radiation if the lymph nodes came back positive. He actually told me that because my PSA was so high, that it had almost certainly spread to other parts of my body. Thankfully, ALL of the lymph nodes came back negative. My wife was very upset after this consultation and cried for days. Horrible bedside manner! Sorry to disappoint you Doc!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 29th, 2008
No concern for anyone but himself
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My father passed away with cancer and during his last days we waited hours on this doctor only to hear about his problems when he finally came into the room. I have never been around a doctor who showed so little compassion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 11th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 15th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jeffrey Gefter, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chattanooga, TN.