Dr. Jeffrey Stephens MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Greenville, SC

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.9)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 30.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 1st, 2014
unhappy
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband was having withdrawal symptoms after stopping a prescription cold turkey. Dr. Stephens saw him in the ER. Even though my husband was voluntarily being transferred to a detox center, Dr. Stephens signed commitment papers. Then, instead of sending him to the facility that we chose he sent him to the dirtiest, worst run facility in the county. It had a BBB rating of D. Made our experience much more difficult than it had to be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 18th, 2013
Is psychiatry just a hobby for him?
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a major depressive crisis with serious suicidal ideation. When I called him, he didn't ask me any questions about my suicide plans and simply said he would try and fit me in the next day. The next day I got a call from his receptionist that he had 15 minutes he could spare. I asked if he had my records (he recently started his own practice) and she said no. So this guy was going to see a seriously ill patient even without the records for 15 minutes- this was his response to my crisis. And when I ended up checking myself into the hospital I received zero follow up from him. If you're not in crisis, he can probably manage basic problems/meds. But don't expect anything requiring more than 10 minutes of his time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 11th, 2013
Total un professional
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Only gave 1 star because you can't give zero. Completely overstepped his legal bounds in evaluating my wife.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
March 11th, 2013
HORRIBLE OFFICE STAFF
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
My husband had his appt. They are never on time so after he's done and trying to set up his next appt they refused to set his appt until his co-insurance from the last appt had been paid. We rec'd their bill on Friday and this appt was Monday. The payment in question was for an appt on Jan 21st and they rec'd payment from insurance on Feb 13th. This statement was dropped on 2/28. Their office is closed on Fridays so at best it was mailed out on the 4th of March. We rec'd it on the 8th. The front clerk was less than nice and would not "argue" about this and sent me to the "manager" who called me hostile when I explained the statement date, we just got it, etc. with their office and hung up on me. Then had the audacity to call back and explain she "overrode" the "late" payment (what late payment). I assume they have a billing office who handles it ..regardless - lack of people who are responsible employees. Sad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2012
Be Very Careful!
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Please be very careful to study up on the FDA guidelines for the medicines Dr. Stephens prescribes. He incorrectly prescribed a very powerful medicine for three years, to the point that it built up in my blood to a dangerous level and I had to be hospitalized and immediately stop taking it. When that happened my mother tried to call his office and was told that he wouldn't be able to see me for two months. He also incorrectly prescribed two other medicines that I took for five years. Thank goodness I found my new psychiatrist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2011
Dr. Stephens is the type of Dr. that cares and listens
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a bad experience with another psychiatrist in town. He misdiagnosed me and told me that he didnt see me getting any better. When a Dr. tells you that, you pretty much lose hope.I found Upstate Psychiatry and was lucky enough to get assigned to Dr. Stephens. He is a genuinely likable person and actually listens

4.0 of 5
January 29th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 21st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jeffrey Stephens, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Greenville, SC.