ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jeffrey Barkin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

12 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.7
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jeffrey Barkin?

Showing 12 of 12 Ratings

Extremely helpful and compassionate

Posted on March 3rd, 2015

Grateful for the guidance and help given to me by Dr. Barkin. Very clear he's well educated, compassionate and kind while still being completely professional.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Feels good to be better!

Posted on July 12th, 2011

My husband and I summer in Maine, living in San Fran the rest of the year. I had been struggling with mood swings for years. The unsteady moods became disabling. Having seen many shrinks over the years, I was reluctant to see someone else. I was referred to Dr. Barkin by someone at Mass General in Boston last summer (2010).So, before we met, Dr. Barkin asked me to write down all the meds I had tried. He went over this list with me during the consultation. I was amazed that he wanted me off the antidepressants. I have been on them for years and thought I needed them. Anyway, he slowly lowered the dose and started some lithium. Within 4 weeks my moods stabilized. Depression went away competely. Granted, my jaw dropped when he suggested lithium but wow! Finally, no depression. What I learned is: 1. See a specialist in mood disorders if you have depression and your not getting better and 2. antidepressants are NOT safe, benign medications in everyone. I recommend Dr. Barkin. Though he doesn't take insurance, it is worth it to see someone who knows this stuff cold.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Really kind doc!

Posted on June 13th, 2010

I came to Dr. B. for some advice on deeply personal issues. He spent a tremendous amount of time with me, and punderstood what makes me tick. The therapy got me past being stuck in life, with a poor job and lousy relationships. The therapy let me grow and get to my potential. WOuld recommend him in a hearbeat!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He Saved my Life

Posted on June 13th, 2010

Basically, I consulted Dr. Barkin in Maine. Drove up from Boston Mass, having been referred by my psychiatrist. Have been suffering with depression for over 20 years, with no benefit from any treatment. Barkin made the correct (a rare genetic illness) diagnosis and found the right meds to get me better. I am forever grateful!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 5th, 2010

He may know how to treat patients with the right medication, but when it comes to the counseling aspect he seems to have no expertise. I have on more than one occasion been made to feel unintelligent and made to feel worse than I already do. He used a tone of voice with me not appropriate for professionals and he does not take insurance.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 22nd, 2016

One Star

Posted on March 10th, 2014

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 31st, 2011

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on October 20th, 2010

One Star

Posted on October 15th, 2010

Five Stars

Posted on August 29th, 2010

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on August 13th, 2010

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jeffrey Barkin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Portland, ME.