ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jeremy Tonkin Is this you?
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
  • 5
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
19.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jeremy Tonkin?


36 Ratings with 14 Comments

4.0 Rating

December 1st, 2016

Sarcastic but a good doctor

You have to get used to his sense of humor. He is smart, spends a lot of time talking with the patient, and offers lots of options and information. Downside is often when you ask questions he replies sarcastically. We think he is funny but as a doctor seeing every type of personality under the sun he should consider his audience. Overall, though, we like seeing him and life has improved. Use the online check-in option and you will only wait 5-10 minutes.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 12th, 2016

Not the best but still a very good Dr.

I would agree that the first visit felt a bit rushed and was not the best bedside manner however he did deliver results on an otherwise bleak situation. Although he comes off as a bit standoffish he is still a very knowledgeable doctor with a kind of timid sense of humour that eventually put me at ease. I wouldnt mind having him as my all the time general care doctor though the problem is now resolved thanks to him. 😉 grateful.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

August 26th, 2016

Dr. Tonkin has been my urologist for about 3 years. He just doesn't have a caring attitude and at times he seems to feel inconvenienced about interacting with his patients. I had an elevated PSA result and so we waited several weeks and I took another PSA exam. This one is higher than the first one. I got the result on Thursday morning from his nurse. She sent him a message apparently he read it but as of Friday 10:00 am I haven't gotten no word on what will be next. I called the nurse again Friday about 8:40 am and she stated she thought he had already contacted me. Needless to say I am worrying about whether or not I have Cancer. FOLKS you do not need this. You deserve better,don't find yourself in my position. I will be selecting another doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 4th, 2016

Had an unusual reaction to a prescribed antibiotic after stepping on an old nail and he was spot-on with his diagnosis and treatment.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2016

Dr. Tonkin

I really appreciate Dr. Tonkin's directness. He is very knowledgeable and I feel he keeps up with the latest trends in his field. I have been very happy having him as my urologist.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 6th, 2016

I don't understand the negativity, esp. towards his bedside manner. I am not sure if it is a generational thing, but I think his "rudeness" is just a dark, sarcastic, witty humor. He operated on a family member today and he was funny, yet professional and answered any questions or concerns we had. People perceive things differently and if you understand his sense of humor may be different than yours, you will understand he isn't being rude at all.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

September 18th, 2015

Stay away from this Dr.

He is rude and makes you feel inferior when you ask a question. He acts as though treating you was an inconvenience to him. His bedside manner has much to be desired. I'm sure he must be a nice man but he is definitely lacking as a doctor. We won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2015

Not my regular doctor, he was on vacation. This doctor stayed late to see me and solve my issues. I'm not sure about the other reviews as I had a great experience.

1.0 Rating

July 1st, 2015

Rude doctor

This is the most disrespectful dr I have ever seen.. My granddaughter ended up in er 3 times the week after seeing him.. He is a RUDE RUDE person and doesn't care about his patients as well as their families!!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2015

quack

Took my husband who has a brain injury and is incontinent to this doctor. According to Tonkin my husband has two choices stay wet or self cath. He is the most uncaring doctor we have had the unfortunate experience to encounter. So asking a lot of questions with no help we were told go home and think about it. I would not take a dog back to this jerk.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2015

Ask for someone else

1st - the other staff at Urology of VA was fabulous! Now for Dr. Tonkin - I must agree with the other reviews that I read now after my apt with him. He is a rude, inconsiderate, preconceiving man that came across like I was wasting his time and he was just absolutely tired of his job! Since the invention of the internet I have never posted a review about anything but my appointment with him was so atrocious that here I am. I wish I had the time to stand outside and picket the office in hopes that people would see someone/anyone else in that practice. Don't waste your insurance co-pay on Dr. Tonkin.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2014

Entitled Snob

This doctor approached me like I was something out of the dark ages. He barely mentioned any alternatives to my situation. When I came back for a follow up visit, I was prepared to ask about surgery and he brushed me off like I was wasting his time. I would not recommend this doctor, I wouldn't trust what he has to say, nor would I want to be disrespected again. I had a family member with me who said this doctor will never touch you!

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jeremy Tonkin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Virginia Beach, VA.

  • Dr. Kurt Mccammon

    Urology

    Virginia Beach, VA 0 mi

    4.0
    (26)
    25
  • Dr. Michael Williams

    Urology, Internal Medicine

    Virginia Beach, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    10
  • Dr. Adam Luchey

    Urology

    Virginia Beach, VA 0 mi

    4.5
    (5)
    9