The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jerold Black Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jerold Black?

Asthma

More than 22 million Americans of all ages have asthma. Prepare to talk to your doctor about symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jerold Black?

Ratings and Reviews

17 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 17 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 2nd, 2015

Best doctor I can imagine!

Our family is in love with Dr. Black! He is thorough, positive, informative, and interacts so well with our 4 year-old. She looks forward to going to see him and is even proud to get her shots (vaccines) from his staff (also terrific). I always learn something when I go to an appointment and am so thankful for this fantastic pediatrician. Be sure to ask about the pink giraffes!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 8th, 2013

RN, CRNP

Office staff was nice, this is no reflection on them. As a nurse practitioner and mother, I was very disappointed in Dr. Black's close mindedness to work with us on a delayed vaccine schedule for OUR baby, even though the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends doctors work with parents on this, if they feel strongly about doing a delayed schedule. I don't want to make this into a vaccine debate, but if you want to do a delayed schedule, such as Dr. Sears', or don't want your baby to have MMR after Merck's two lead virologists of 20 plus years blew the whistle on them and filed a lawsuit for being forced to falsify vaccine effectiveness results and in some cases made the vaccine 4x's as strong (google it), etc. this Dr will not listen to concerns or work with you at all. You must bolus your little newborn with all the vaccines in the time recommended or you will be dismissed. End of story! Do you really want a doctor who will not practice individualized medicine or listen to parents? I have a friend who left his office crying after she took her first baby in and asked about Dr. Sear's schedule (she had a sister who had neuro deficits from vaccine and was concerned it could be genetic). He made her feel so bad and paranoid, she is a nurse as well, and had valid questions/concerns which deserved to be heard and respected.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 5th, 2013

Best doctor ever!

My daughter absolutely loves dr. Black! I know she's safe going to him and I trust him with anything that has to do with her! Both of my nephews go to him and we all love him!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2013

Very Satisfied Patient

I am a firm believer on instincts and when Dr. Black walked in the door we were so relieved that we made the right decision on choosing him for our pediatrician. We felt like we were talking to a friend not a doctor. Great guy and good with little babies!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 3rd, 2010

Amazin

I absolutely love Dr. Black. He is so caring and never makes me feel like my questions are a burden. He spends all the time with my son and me that is needed. I never feel rushed or like I a putting him out. He is so amazing with my son, he absolutely loves him. He pays a lot of attention to him and is great at putting him at ease.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 26th, 2009

Don't Recommend

Dr. Black was arrogant, dismissive and curt. You would think that a pediatrician would not only want to work with children, but also their parents, but it did not feel this way when we were there. Overall our pediatricians and Sansum have been great just avoid Dr. Black.

Doctor's Response

I'm terribly sorry your visit did not meet up to your expectations. I take criticism seriously and am glad your visit didn't sour you to the excellent doctors at our clinic. I will continue to strive to make every visit to our facility a good one. Please don't let one bad encounter sour you to future visits.

SHOW
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2008

So great with my son
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 27th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2015

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 14th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jerold Black is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Santa Barbara, CA.

  • Dr. Rea Goumas

    Pediatrics

    Santa Barbara, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    31
  • Dr. Daniel Brennan

    Dr. Daniel Brennan

    Pediatrics

    Santa Barbara, CA 0 mi

    4.6
    (10)
    18
  • Dr. John Gaitan

    Dr. John Gaitan

    Pediatrics

    Santa Barbara, CA 0 mi

    4.6
    (9)
    25