Dr. Joan Cantero-Lakhanpal MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.1
  • 57 patient ratings
  • 33 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.9)

33 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    47%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    39%
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 26.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2016
Wonderful caring physician
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We were all on edge about my 93 year old mother's lab tests -- thyroid problem. Dr. Cantero immediately put us at ease. We have been to quite a few physicians recently with Mom -- Dr. Cantero has the absolute best bedside manner of all. She spent time with us -- we didn't feel like we were being rushed -- usual in this day and age. Thanks goodness I don't have an endocrinological problem -- but if I did there is no question who I would go to. She may have the best bedside manner of any doctor I have ever seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2015
Would NOT recommend
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor seemed annoyed by questions, didn't seem to take my issues seriously... and I felt blown off. She was very abrupt acting
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
she saw me for 20 minutes as a NEW patient and proceeded to take me off my meds without any history and insist i try her system. After getting sick on her regimen I had no follow -up and am going to see another dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 18th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
extremely rude and not caring. will not go back or recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2015
Scary
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The only reason I stayed with Annapolis Endocrinology for as long as I did is because I saw Dr. Cantero-Lakhanpal in small increments. Having said that, after sharing that she wished her office had a microphone so that all of her patients could realize that they never listen, that she is the doctor & she is always right, I will no longer continue with her or anyone else in the practice. She is hands down the most arrogant, dismissive, & rude doctor I have ever had the displeasure of knowing. If you like to be talked over, talked down to, & completely disregarded, then she is definitely the physician for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2015
Behind the times
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I did not meet this doctor, instead I saw a nurse practitioner for my thyroid script refill. I've taken Synthroid/generics for 30+ years, and I was astounded that the LNP told me to take it in the morning, when studies conducted four years ago and published in the JAMA describe that it is more effective taken at night. FOUR years ago this study was published and yet this practice continues to tell patients wrong information, causing those patients to possibly take more medication than necessary. Yikes. I'm not going back there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 5th, 2015
Worst doctor ever!
Dr. Cantero was rude, abrupt, cold and disrespectful during the whopping 15 minutes she spent with me. I went to her seeking a second opinion on my thyroid and low blood sugar issues and was dismissed immediately upon her entering the room. Her diagnosis: you eat too much (before even asking how/what I eat) and you need to lose weight. Her treatment given: starve yourself ("because skinny people starve themselves"). She suggested if I didn't like her answers I was welcome to go elsewhere. If you like being talked down to and made to feel as though you are the problem then she's your doctor. If you prefer to be treated like a human being STAY AWAY. She is awful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Truly, zero stars would be a better summary of my experience with Dr. Cantero. Rude, dismissive, did not begin with any intro or questions about what brought me in. No bedside manner skills, no customer care skills, not helpful or concerned about patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just love the professionalism, that personal touch, Dr. Cantero is caring and able to relate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 8th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am very pleased with the care the doctor has given me. I came to see Dr Cantero for diabetes and ended up being diagnosed with thyroid cancer because she noticed a lump in my throat. It was because she spent time with me that it was picked up. Luckily it was early stage and I am doing all right now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 5th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor, highly recommend her!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 5th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have insulin dependent diabetes and have been to many doctors. Meeting Dr Cantero changed my life. I have been on a pump since under her care and are doing very well since the switch. I highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joan Cantero-Lakhanpal, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Annapolis, MD.

Doctor

Dr. Scott Katzen

11 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jay Mazel

23 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Shariff Dunlap

9 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor