ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joan Schieber Is this you?

Filter Reviews

37 Ratings • 12 Comments

2.9
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 19

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joan Schieber?

Showing 12 of 37 Ratings

Never again

Posted on March 11th, 2016

Dr. Schieber was recommended by a friend who had a positive experience of her while pregnant. I went to her thinking that I would be just as pleased with her care for a non-pregnancy concern. The first thing out of her mouth when we met was "Do you want to discuss freezing some eggs? You're at the age where it's the point of no return." I said "No, I do not plan to have children." She pushed the issue and I pushed back. She finally dropped it. I tried with Dr. Schieber many times, to make my preferences known. She talked over me every time. She loves to do birth control implants. I told her (several years in a row) that I didn't want that option. She just is a horrible listener. I'm a reasonable person and will put up with a crappy bedside manner for good care, but at the end of the day, I have the same problem that I went to her with and she has never listened to me. She just wants to get through her script. I'm done.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

She is fantastic!

Posted on October 14th, 2015

I would not pay much attention to the other reviews. People are more inclined to write a review if they had a bad experience than people that had a pleasant experience . I have been going to her since highschool and she is excellent! I think the staff is very friendly as well. She is very trusting and offered a lot of reassurance to me. I wouldn't go to any other gyno she seriously is great.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 9th, 2015

She needs to work on her bedside manners.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not the Dr for me.

Posted on February 27th, 2015

Don't plan on returning.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Love Her

Posted on February 9th, 2015

I really like her - I connected with her from the beginning. She's a mom herself, so she has an understanding.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Looking Elsewhere....

Posted on December 21st, 2014

I won't be returning to Dr Schieber after an unnecessary surgery from her misdiagnosis. She did not show a professional manner in my case nor in her mistakes. An explanation of "whoops" by her was not appropriate and I will be finding knowledgable medical care elsewhere.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Lack of care/Rude Staff

Posted on October 25th, 2014

After being misdiagnosed twice by Dr. Schieber, I took charge of my medical care and switched to another practice. I have not regret that decision for one second. Not only did I feel that Dr. Schieber did not have the medical knowledge I would want in an OB/GYN, I was also disappointed in how rude and cold the staff was there. It always seemed like it was an inconvenience to them that you were there and never was there any support or empathy if you were going through difficult times. I am glad I left this practice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

wonderful obgyn!

Posted on June 11th, 2013

Dr. Schieber is a wonderful doctor! She is always professional, kind and thorough. As a patient of hers I have always left my appointments feeling very informed and confident that I have received the best care. As a SLH employee I have seen her in action at numerous deliveries and am always impressed with how knowledgeable and genuine she is towards other healthcare providers and most importantly families.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

love her

Posted on October 17th, 2012

Dr. Scheiber delivered my first two boys and now I am pregnant with my third, A GIRL! I am so happy to have Dr. Scheiber as my doctor. She is very caring, laid back but also VERY thorough and informative. She was very supportive of my birth plan. My oldest is 6 and she still remembers details of his delivery.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 2nd, 2012

Dr. Schieber should have diagnosed me with a condition and did not. After a visit to Mayo Clinic, they said she 100% should have discovered what was wrong with me. I will never see Dr. Schieber again.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 3rd, 2011

I started seeing Dr. Schieber right after I found out I was pregnant. I delivered my baby last winter. My experience has been that several of the staff members were rude and impatient with me. Dr. Schieber dismissed several of my health concerns during and after my pregnancy. As a result I am living with a health problem that could have been avoided. I had to visit her three times to get a proper diagnosis. The first two times she told me everything was fine. The third time I had done some research before I saw her so I told her what to look for and what I thought was wrong. Turned out that I was correct. It was a problem that based on the symptoms I described she should have easily diagnosed and yet she missed it (twice) because she wasn't listening to me. Instead she continued to insist that what I need was an anti-depressant when what I really needed was surgery.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly recommended

Posted on March 25th, 2011

Dr. Shieber is the best doctor I've been to in my 40 years of existence. I have never had a doctor spend as much time with me, explaining what she is doing, and generally discussing my overall health. I would highly recommend her to any woman who is in need of a OB/GYN. My only regret is that she isn't a general doctor as well. I would definitely go to her for my overall health if it were an option.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joan Schieber is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Kansas City, MO.