Dr. Joaquin Brieva MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology Chicago, IL

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-1.0)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 19.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 18th, 2017
Almost Hairless
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do Not Go! A year ago, he diagnosed me with rosacea on face, body and scalp. He gave me metrodonizole to apply to face, chest, back, arms, scalp--wherever I had little inflamed pimples. Yes, I had rosacea on my face (the ONLY place you can have it!!) but I also had a staph skin infection. Luckily for me (and Brieva), he'd also prescribed pill medication that handled both. In another appt., I told him I was losing my hair. Without even looking at my scalp, he said, "No you're not." Now I've just been diagnosed with scarring alopecia in the late stage after having biopsies with a new doctor. If Brieva had caught it back then instead of diagnosing it as rosacea, it might have saved me lots of pain and the loss of most of my hair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 6th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saved my life ! Compassionate and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very good doctor, good bedside manner and lots of experience!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 21st, 2012
Brilliant
Wait time
5 minutes
Dr Breiva was able to do more for my rare diagnosis in 3 weeks what a team of doctors couldn't do in 4 months. Do wish it was easier to get that 1st appt but other than that I would be worse off today without his care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2012
Love this doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Brieva has been treating me for rosacea for over ten years. Thanks to him my skin is taken care of. He's a good hearted person & doctor. Yes, it's true most visit will be quick but trust me all will be taken care of with patiece.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2011
Great doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was a patient but no longer am because I moved. I have been to dermatologists since I was about 18 months, so I have a lot of experience with them. He is one of the best. He doesn't have a lot of time to spend with you, but that's more Northwestern than him. At least he fixes your problems. I really, really like him. I'm now in the northwest suburbs, and I can't find anyone who can hold a candle to him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2010
Horrible experience...
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude, arrogant. Left me cold. Stick with the suburbs, Northwestern physicians are over rated!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 27th, 2008
Dismissive, uninformative and overall unpleasant
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Had a miserable experience getting simple plantar warts removed. I tried on 2 separate occasions to get information ahead of time. Office staff were unable to give any sense of expectations or answer pre-exam questions but never allowed me to talk with a nurse or doctor. Waited for 20 minutes in the waiting room and onother 10 in the exam room. At the exam, Dr. Brieva launched into the procedure without explaining what to expect afterwards. He spoke hardly a word to me but rather talked with his intern the whole time. She bumped into me without comment as I lay face down on the awkward table. The doctor left without providing any care instructions and I ultimately had to have the procedure redone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joaquin Brieva, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.