Dr. Joel Bauer MD Patient Reviews

  • Colon and Rectal Surgery New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.2)

37 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    59%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    24%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2017
DR. Bauer is the best. Second to none!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer is the best doctor. He operated on my son and saved his life. The operation was 7 hours long and my son went through so much but Dr. Bauer was there for him every step of the way. Dr. Bauer explained everything to us before the surgery but things did come up that were not expected and Dr. Bauer was there to fix it. I will be forever grateful to him. If you have any colon or rectal problems, he is the person to see. The office was terrific to book appointments and billing was very smooth. I recommend them highly and we went to many doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2016
PhdD
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What more can I say: "He saved my life"
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 15th, 2015
Ghost Surgery
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Allows inexperienced residents to perform surgery on you. Butcher, IMO.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2014
Excellent surgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer is an excellent surgeon. Wait time for his visits is a bit long, but he's worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 1st, 2013
There's no surgeon I trust more
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had multiple abdominal surgeries by a number of surgeons at different hospitals. The reason I find Dr. Bauer the most trustworthy is because he is very conservative. He uses the scalpel only if it's truly urgent and all other alternatives have been tried and failed. Initially he doesn't come across as a warm person but once you get to know him you notice that there's a very caring human being beneath that omnipotent facade. If I need GI surgery, I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 1st, 2012
great surgeon
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2010
A highly qualified surgeon and a mentch
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There is no other surgeon that I trust more than Dr. Bauer

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2010
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer has saved my life. I have been a patient of his since 1997. He was the only one who was agressive and took control of my disease. I had to have a few other surgeries with Dr. Bauer and he comes across in the beginning a little cold, but in reality he really cares and took very good care of me. When I called him regarding my sister who has colitis and was having a stroke he ran to the hospital to take care of her...no questions, no bills. He is a very talented doctor.

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not worth the expense
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2010
His ego is more important that the welfare of his patient
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He ignored my directions and non permisson for a surgical procdure and has caused me life alterning physical issues
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer is an excellent surgeon, very skilled and experienced. I think very highly of him as a surgeon and as a caring person who will do his best to treat your condition and try his best to have a great surgical outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2010
Great experience... great Dr.
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Son was diagnosed with Ulceritive Colitis... Dr. Bauer served us well... pre/during/post surgery...Happy with the experience and the surgery for our 18 year old son.He is fully recovered... and has put on 35 lbs of pure muscle since his illness...No Steroids worked whatsoever! after 3 years... surgery was our choice... and we are pleased with the results for our son!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Bauer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.