Overall Review

3.8
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.2)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    58%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Wait Time 26.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2016
PhdD
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What more can I say: "He saved my life"
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 15th, 2015
Ghost Surgery
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Allows inexperienced residents to perform surgery on you. Butcher, IMO.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2014
Excellent surgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer is an excellent surgeon. Wait time for his visits is a bit long, but he's worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 1st, 2013
There's no surgeon I trust more
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had multiple abdominal surgeries by a number of surgeons at different hospitals. The reason I find Dr. Bauer the most trustworthy is because he is very conservative. He uses the scalpel only if it's truly urgent and all other alternatives have been tried and failed. Initially he doesn't come across as a warm person but once you get to know him you notice that there's a very caring human being beneath that omnipotent facade. If I need GI surgery, I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2010
A highly qualified surgeon and a mentch
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There is no other surgeon that I trust more than Dr. Bauer
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer has saved my life. I have been a patient of his since 1997. He was the only one who was agressive and took control of my disease. I had to have a few other surgeries with Dr. Bauer and he comes across in the beginning a little cold, but in reality he really cares and took very good care of me. When I called him regarding my sister who has colitis and was having a stroke he ran to the hospital to take care of her...no questions, no bills. He is a very talented doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not worth the expense
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2010
His ego is more important that the welfare of his patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He ignored my directions and non permisson for a surgical procdure and has caused me life alterning physical issues
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 18th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bauer is an excellent surgeon, very skilled and experienced. I think very highly of him as a surgeon and as a caring person who will do his best to treat your condition and try his best to have a great surgical outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2010
Great experience... great Dr.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Son was diagnosed with Ulceritive Colitis... Dr. Bauer served us well... pre/during/post surgery...Happy with the experience and the surgery for our 18 year old son.He is fully recovered... and has put on 35 lbs of pure muscle since his illness...No Steroids worked whatsoever! after 3 years... surgery was our choice... and we are pleased with the results for our son!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 5th, 2009
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
You dont get what you pay for. Off insurance - I dont understand this concept of the city. Someone told me that you need a doc who's not on insurance to be good. Clearly this is not the case. He operates on me on a Friday and then his junior saw me afterwards.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 18th, 2009
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
did not really do true laparoscopic surgery on me, more like a big csection scar
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Bauer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Stephen Gorfine

39 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alan Abrams

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Aronoff

27 years experience

4.2 of 5