The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joel Bauer Is this you?

Filter Reviews

39 Ratings • 15 Comments

3.7
  • 22
  • 2
  • 4
  • 1
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
25 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joel Bauer?

Showing 12 of 39 Ratings

DR. Bauer is the best. Second to none!

Posted on March 3rd, 2017

Dr. Bauer is the best doctor. He operated on my son and saved his life. The operation was 7 hours long and my son went through so much but Dr. Bauer was there for him every step of the way. Dr. Bauer explained everything to us before the surgery but things did come up that were not expected and Dr. Bauer was there to fix it. I will be forever grateful to him. If you have any colon or rectal problems, he is the person to see. The office was terrific to book appointments and billing was very smooth. I recommend them highly and we went to many doctors.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

PhdD

Posted on October 17th, 2016

What more can I say: "He saved my life"

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Ghost Surgery

Posted on August 15th, 2015

Allows inexperienced residents to perform surgery on you. Butcher, IMO.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent surgeon

Posted on June 4th, 2014

Dr. Bauer is an excellent surgeon. Wait time for his visits is a bit long, but he's worth it.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

There's no surgeon I trust more

Posted on October 1st, 2013

I've had multiple abdominal surgeries by a number of surgeons at different hospitals. The reason I find Dr. Bauer the most trustworthy is because he is very conservative. He uses the scalpel only if it's truly urgent and all other alternatives have been tried and failed. Initially he doesn't come across as a warm person but once you get to know him you notice that there's a very caring human being beneath that omnipotent facade. If I need GI surgery, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

great surgeon

Posted on February 1st, 2012

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

A highly qualified surgeon and a mentch

Posted on September 12th, 2010

There is no other surgeon that I trust more than Dr. Bauer

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 29th, 2010

Dr. Bauer has saved my life. I have been a patient of his since 1997. He was the only one who was agressive and took control of my disease. I had to have a few other surgeries with Dr. Bauer and he comes across in the beginning a little cold, but in reality he really cares and took very good care of me. When I called him regarding my sister who has colitis and was having a stroke he ran to the hospital to take care of her...no questions, no bills. He is a very talented doctor.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 7th, 2010

not worth the expense

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

His ego is more important that the welfare of his patient

Posted on June 30th, 2010

He ignored my directions and non permisson for a surgical procdure and has caused me life alterning physical issues

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 19th, 2010

Dr. Bauer is an excellent surgeon, very skilled and experienced. I think very highly of him as a surgeon and as a caring person who will do his best to treat your condition and try his best to have a great surgical outcome.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great experience... great Dr.

Posted on February 22nd, 2010

Son was diagnosed with Ulceritive Colitis... Dr. Bauer served us well... pre/during/post surgery...Happy with the experience and the surgery for our 18 year old son.He is fully recovered... and has put on 35 lbs of pure muscle since his illness...No Steroids worked whatsoever! after 3 years... surgery was our choice... and we are pleased with the results for our son!!!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joel Bauer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.