inactive

Dr. Joel Bernstein Patient Reviews

  • Medical Oncology La Jolla, CA

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    29%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 11.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 20th, 2015
saved my life
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
in 198 I was given a 1 in 80 chance of surviving, Bernie saved my life
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2014
AWESOME
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My son was diagnosed at 18 with Hodgkins Lymphoma. It was such a wonderful , private office where my son could have his treatment and chemo. 3 years later he is still seeing Dr.Bernstein for his followup and I wouldn't have it any other way. My son and Dr Bernstein have a special bond and my son feels comfortable with him and the staff. I would highly recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 14th, 2013
Confusing
He may have genius days, but in my opinion he's a bit unstable. He's brash and loud. He can be friendly or hostile; you don't know what you're going to get with this guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2013
A Disgrace
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a disgrace to his profession. Do not put your life in his hands
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2012
Great Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bernstein is very kind and very very smart. I trust his opinion - my life depends on it. He is easy to understand and is very caring. His office staff is wonderful, as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2012
Go elsewhere
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst bedside manner. Doesn't even know how to really talk to his patients. I'm in the medical field and I am amazed that this Dr is even in practice. Dr B doesn't even know what's going on with his patients, even after treating them long term. He knows how to joke, however he is shallow and phony. He spends just a few moments with patients, looks at his watch all the time and looks hurried every visit. Should not be doing research and not patient care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2011
Lynda Jacobs
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Incredible doctor-wonderful man. I am alive today mostly due to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 21st, 2011
Stay Away
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst doctor ever and unfit to practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2011
Saving life
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.B. is an expert in his field. He does all for his patients helping them in their tough time. He is a caring and professional oncologist with little time for stories....He has all a cancer patient need. I am grateful for having him as my doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm glad I was recommended Dr. Bernstein for my oncologist. He's very intelligent and caring. I was a unique case and he spent a lot of time researching to figure out what I had. His staff is great - very professional and friendly. And also does a great job scheduling because I never wait longer than 5 minutes to see Dr. Bernstein.

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2010
Brilliant
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very uncomforable with crying or upset but really, he is there to treat your disease, not your mental health. As for your disease, he is brilliant, sharp, oddly funny and necessary for your return to health. You can absolutely trust him for knowledge, skill and straight talk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 5th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Bernstein is the worst doctor I have ever encountered. Condescending, and not knowledgable, a bad human being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Bernstein is similar to these 3 Doctors near La Jolla, CA.