ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joel Bernstein Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

17 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

December 20th, 2015

saved my life

in 198 I was given a 1 in 80 chance of surviving, Bernie saved my life

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2014

AWESOME

My son was diagnosed at 18 with Hodgkins Lymphoma. It was such a wonderful , private office where my son could have his treatment and chemo. 3 years later he is still seeing Dr.Bernstein for his followup and I wouldn't have it any other way. My son and Dr Bernstein have a special bond and my son feels comfortable with him and the staff. I would highly recommend

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

November 14th, 2013

Confusing

He may have genius days, but in my opinion he's a bit unstable. He's brash and loud. He can be friendly or hostile; you don't know what you're going to get with this guy.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 5th, 2013

A Disgrace

He is a disgrace to his profession. Do not put your life in his hands

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2012

Great Doctor

Dr. Bernstein is very kind and very very smart. I trust his opinion - my life depends on it. He is easy to understand and is very caring. His office staff is wonderful, as well.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 21st, 2012

Go elsewhere

Worst bedside manner. Doesn't even know how to really talk to his patients. I'm in the medical field and I am amazed that this Dr is even in practice. Dr B doesn't even know what's going on with his patients, even after treating them long term. He knows how to joke, however he is shallow and phony. He spends just a few moments with patients, looks at his watch all the time and looks hurried every visit. Should not be doing research and not patient care.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2011

Lynda Jacobs

Incredible doctor-wonderful man. I am alive today mostly due to him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 21st, 2011

Stay Away

The worst doctor ever and unfit to practice.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 2nd, 2011

Saving life

Dr.B. is an expert in his field. He does all for his patients helping them in their tough time. He is a caring and professional oncologist with little time for stories....He has all a cancer patient need. I am grateful for having him as my doctor.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 2nd, 2010

I'm glad I was recommended Dr. Bernstein for my oncologist. He's very intelligent and caring. I was a unique case and he spent a lot of time researching to figure out what I had. His staff is great - very professional and friendly. And also does a great job scheduling because I never wait longer than 5 minutes to see Dr. Bernstein.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2010

Brilliant

He is very uncomforable with crying or upset but really, he is there to treat your disease, not your mental health. As for your disease, he is brilliant, sharp, oddly funny and necessary for your return to health. You can absolutely trust him for knowledge, skill and straight talk.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 5th, 2009

Bernstein is the worst doctor I have ever encountered. Condescending, and not knowledgable, a bad human being.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joel Bernstein is similar to the following 3 Doctors near La Jolla, CA.

  • Dr. Helane Fronek

    Internal Medicine

    La Jolla, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31
  • Dr. Colin Haggerty

    Dr. Colin Haggerty

    Internal Medicine

    La Jolla, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    34
  • Dr. Filip Fattohi

    Dr. Filip Fattohi

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine, Interventional Cardiology

    La Jolla, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    39