Dr. Joel Matta MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.1
  • 75 patient ratings
  • 25 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

25 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    8%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 24.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
August 17th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Excellent surgeon and staff and so far excellent result. I would recommend everyone to go to him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wasn't diagnosed with hip dysplasia until my late 20's, but the pain began long before then. The same as others who suffer from this, I've had a long painful journey. Dr. Matta and his Fellow Dr. Jimenez, along with his staff have made this road incredibly better for me. I live in a state with no qualified periacetabular osteotomy surgeons, so I was referred out of state to Santa Monica for my surgery with Dr. Matta. I can't say enough good things about him and his staff. They are all extremely pleasant, patient, and amazing! I am now recovering from my right PAO that was done in July, and I am fully recovered from my left PAO that was done in November. I can't thank him enough for this incredible procedure that is giving me my life back. I highly recommend him to anyone in need of a hip/ pelvis surgeon, he is worth the long distance travel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2016
Dr. Matta gave me my life back.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Matta is the most caring doctor I've ever met. A day after surgery, he was watching me walk with my new hip and cheering me on while I tackled walking up & down the steps. He took time explaining the procedure of the operation with the special table he uses. All my concerns were assuaged because of him Fortunetly for me, 13 years ago, I found out about Dr. Matta from a good friend who had both hips replaced by him and it was 13 years ago that I lived everyday in pain until Dr.Matta diagnosed my problem. Ever since my hip replacement, including the day after surgery, I have been free of pain, I walk briskly, run, skip and dance. I would never go to anyone else. My scar is now practically nonexistant. I can sit in any chair, high or low. I can cross my legs and do all the things that the old kind of hip replacement forbids. His new innovative hip replacement is the ONLY way to go. I will sing his praises forever more! Thank you again & again Dr. Joel Matta. You are my hero!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I received 2 hip replacements with Dr. Matta. I went from being an avid runner/outdoor person to not being able to do any of that when my hips went bad. Dr. Matta fixed me up last year and replaced both of my hips. I am now back to hiking the outdoors, exercising and have no pain! He is amazing and had the best experience with him. His staff is courtius and super helpful. I would recommend Dr. Matta to anyone with hip issues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I visited Dr. Matta for a second opinion. He confirmed my diagnosis, took multiple sets of images in the office and spent nearly an hour with my husband and I explaining my diagnosis, treatment options and answering questions. We didnt feel rushed. Dr. Matta made us feel that he was genuinely interested in my case and wanted to give me all the information I needed to an informed decision regarding treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2016
Exceptional!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful, wonderful surgeon. In and out and walking with just a cane on second day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 25th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Complete success
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I interviewed two orthopedic surgeons for my total hip. I chose m Dr Marta because of his kind manner and I felt he listened carefully to my concerns. Tanya PA has been very helpful! I will have surgery in a few weeks
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2015
Superior Result
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had both hips replaced by Joel Matta. The result in both cases was excellent -- fast recovery, no side effects and total and full use of the hips. I can play golf, walk and live my life without hip pain. His work allows me to be 30 years old again. Plus, several of my friends from Ohio have also had their hips replaced by Dr. Matta with the same positive outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 31st, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Matta is an excellent surgeon, and the hospital & staff were very good. I may need another hip replacement and hope Dr Matta has time to do it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2014
Best surgeon possible!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am recommending Dr. Matta to everyone I know who may need a hip replacement. I recently had mine done and was amazed at how quickly I recovered. He and his team made the whole procedure as easy and comfortable as possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2014
Favorite Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My introduction to Dr. Matta was due to being in a severe car accident in 1998 near San Jose, CA on a trip from San Francisco back to Long Beach. The surgeon at the hospital that I was taken to attempted to repair my left acetabulum fracture and felt that he could not complete the surgery due to the severity of my injuries and fought with my insurance company for a week to get me flown down to Good Sam in LA (where Dr. Matta was at the time). He has since not only repaired that injury, but replaced my left hip in 1999 and completed revision surgery on my left hip in 2012. I have complete confidence in he and his staff. I have always recommended that anyone needing a hip replacement use his services.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Matta, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Monica, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Navid Ziran

16 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Thomas Grogan

35 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Moreland

43 years experience

4.7 of 5