Dr. Joel Parker MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.3
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

2.0 (-1.3)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    31%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 19.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2016
Cold fish
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Follows up after visit? Seriously?? Not unless he can charge extra for that. And his "bedside manner" is similar to that of DMV employee - couldn't care less. Once his paperwork is filled out, off you go. Whether he's helped you is beside the point. He's done enough to charge your insurance company and that's all that seems to matter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 25th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Main receptionist is just plain nasty and has a really horrible attitude. Makes it clear it's a pain in her a** to talk to you. Amazing she's working in this role. Dr. Parker does well at the evaluation but the maintenance appts make it clear he just wants to write the script and push you out the door. In there for 15 minutes, tops, so no time to explore other options or revisit issues. Definitely not the person to see if you have a complex diagnosis or are on multiple medications, because it's clear he has no interest in thinking about the patient again after that first visit. As others have noted, he has a brisk manner and can seem dismissive. At the evaluation he claims he'll work with you to figure out what's best, but that's just not true, and after you're hooked in, over time it becomes very clear he's more interested in seeing the maximum number of patients he can in a single day, rather than doing a careful job with each one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 10th, 2016
Horrible!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude, cold, and grossly insensitive. His focus seems to be on paperwork and charging insurance companies as much as possible rather than actually helping patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 9th, 2015
Rude office staff
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Parker's office staff make it impossible to arrange an appointment and are some of the rudest healthcare personnel that I have ever had to deal with. Despite 3 voice mails, one email and multiple calls I was never able to schedule an appointment. Furthermore, The receptionist Sarah was belligerently rude on the phone bringing me to tears. She didn't like that I couldn't speak fast enough for her and I was hung up on. Not the environment a suicidally depressed patient should be faced with when seeking help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 25th, 2015
I Don't Recommend!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Controlling and clinical - shows no indication that he even notices/cares about the emotions that are happening right in front of him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Cold, impersonal, and completing lacking in warmth or empathy. More concerned with forms and paperwork than the person sitting in front of him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
amazing Doctor!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2015
Dr. Joel Parker - Best IME Reports you could ask for!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Doctor! Wrote the agreed upon IME flawlessly. I can highly recommend Dr. Parker to deliver as promised. Bravo Joel, Bravo!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 12th, 2013
We all Need Patience (Patients...lol)
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I agree with the other reviewer when they mention that Dr. Parker has a dry wit. I guess in his line of business and after his many years of handling all of our "issues", he would need a sense of humor. I was/am lucky to have him as there are a LOT of Quacks out there. I never needed any help in this area before and was alarmed at how inept (Psycho) a lot of the shrinks can be. Actually, I think that some shrinks should have their license revoked and than placed in a loony bin! I am glad I am in good hands with Dr. J.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2013
Kind, funny, informed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am stunned by some of these other reviews. Dr. Parker has always been compassionate, kind and thorough. He is very well-informed and up to date. I have never felt rushed in a session and I feel that he listens well. He has a dry wit -- I could see others finding it sarcastic, but I think he is really funny. I think a sense of humor is a valuable asset in sometimes difficult situations. I would have no hesitation in recommending him, and have. I have butt heads with his staff some, but not recently.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 18th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor needs to remember The Hippocratic Oath he took when he entered the medical profession.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2008
Excellent, caring physician
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thorough, kind, well-informed psychiatrist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Parker, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Eric Benjamin

33 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Laura Nelson

19 years experience

2.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Amnon Kahane

3.8 of 5