Dr. Joel Ragland MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.1)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    70%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Wait Time 29.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2016
Very impressed with dr Ragland
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went for 2nd opinion and reading of X-ray, MRI of neck, CT brain scan. Gave much more accurate reading. Relieved a lot of my stress after having been told I had an unknown stroke -I had not! Gave detailed explanation of other reports and refuted what was causing neck pain which was bad tissue injuries. Spent a lot of time for first visit. Very courteous and felt like you were talking to a family member. All staff very professional and courteous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2016
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great bedside manner. Very caring doctor! Love him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragland put a shunt in my brain & gave me my life back. He's in my prayers daily as well as my wife's. He's the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 4th, 2016
Tremendous physician and surgeon.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragland is one of the best doctors that I have ever met. I have a medical diagnosis that has caused many surgeries. I have met many doctors and surgeons and Dr. Ragland is wonderful. He has a most wonderful way of working with his patients. He spends time and helped me to make decisions based on sound medical tests and diagnosis. His follow up is excellent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2016
Mr.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great first visit with Dr. Raglands staff==in particular Nancy Moulton PA-c and Connie of the office staff==in 73 years the most gratifying Dr. visit ever even though I did not see Dr. Ragland==would highly recommend him==all of his patient reviews are very positive--reason I chose him==not all Doctors reviews are positive
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2015
He is Awesome!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragland is amazing! He completely fixed my neck and arm pain due to a bone spur pressing on a nerve. I would go back to him in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2015
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was a great surgeon ..I would highly recommend him to everyone and I have. My surgery went great..they were caring and compassionate..I loved his assistant too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 20th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragland & His PA are a cut above the rest. Have had 2 back surgeries with Dr. Ragland & recommended him to family & friends. With that being said his office staff is not very friendly & in some instances down right rude. I have been trying to get an appt but can't get past the receptionist b/c I haven't been seen in over a year. I'm sure it is policy but you'd think that someone who had surgery w/ the doctor would know when they needed to be seen again! Should I make an appt every couple of months just to stay current? Disappointed if this is indeed the policy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 16th, 2014
Not Recommended
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long office waits. I think they forgot about me in the exam room on the first appointment. 1 hour in waiting room. 1.5 hours in the exam room, then the doc shows up for a 15 minute appointment. Asked me to come back later on one appointment. Went through the suggested treatment plan of PT, new MRI, injections, etc. Didn't help and may have made it worse. Suggested other opintions from another doc and wished me luck on my 3rd visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2013
Excellent Physician!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely one of the best neurosurgeons In East Tennessee. Has successfully done three back operations on me with great results. He's the Best of the Best! No kidding. He's a very compassionate and caring doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2012
Dr. Ragland is great!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a bulged disc in my lower back, causing me great discomfort. Dr. Ragland was very honest about the situation, and what improvement I could expect if he performed surgery. I opted to go ahead, and the results are fantastic. Pain was gone after the first day, incision healed up great. I would rate my improvement at 90%. My wife is in medicine, and when I had her survey the surgeons and doctors at her hospital (regarding who they would have perform this surgery if it was them going under the knife), Dr. Ragland's name was almost unanimous. I am very pleased with his demeanor. He seemed very confident, which in turn gave me confidence. A very good doctor and a very good result. Thanks Doc!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2011
he did my neck surgery
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very intelligent, patient, kind bed-side manner. i know 2 other people who recommended him because he also did their neck surgery (acdf). i highly recommend him, and i'd see him again if i had any future medical need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Ragland, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Knoxville, TN.

Doctor

Dr. David Hauge

33 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Steven Sanders

32 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Albea

19 years experience

3.6 of 5