Dr. Joel Saal MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.9
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 1.1)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    35%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    40%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 31.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
January 12th, 2015
Okay doctor, okay practice; generally not a caring environment, however.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I understand they are in business to make a living... essentially to make money, but their process is caring for cattle -- they herd you through the appointments and procedures with next to little TLC and as long as they get their money, they really don't care about the patient's comfort or their ultimate condition.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2014
Cares about his patients' outcomes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have and will highly recommend Dr. Joel Saal, MD. Although he can appear to be "all business," he really seems passionate about making sure his patients receive the care they need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 14th, 2013
Frustrated and not done yet
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Has yet to figure out anything conclusive as to a diagnosis; it's been three months. Wait times are absolutely absurd, and he's *never* less than half an hour late. Supposedly he saw something worth investigating while doing an ultrasound on my wrist, but I have no more conclusive information than "huh, that's funny." Oh, and thank you very much for both forgetting the anesthetic spray for cortisone injections AND not mentioning the forty-eight-hour flare-up of inflammation afterward.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 9th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Because Dr. Saal is so full of himself, I wanted to ask him if he ever felt the need to ever eat... It's too bad because he may be a good doctor, but it's hard to get past his arrogance...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2012
Very poor bedside manner
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr Saal for a severe lumbar spine injury. I have never encountered a man as rude as Dr Saal in my life. He would sware and throw things at me and his staff if things weren't set up just right. During an epidural procedure when he injected the wrong level, he screamed at me, like it was my fault. He may be accurate in diagnosing problems, but I would never wish his treatment on anyone. I am actually surprised he is allowed to practice medicine! Please be careful about choosing him to "care" for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2011
Worst Bedside Manner EVER
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw this doctor for tingling in my neck. After waiting 45 min, he treated me like a child and dismissed every thing I had to say. He never listened to me and snapped back when I asked questions (as if I were stupid). He left twice during for personal cell phone calls while I waited in the room! He then said we'd fix it with cortisone shots to my neck! I left and never went back. Fixed my problem with Physical Therapy. He has the worst bedside manner I've ever experienced!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2011
saved my life
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a Firefighter who suffered a possible career ending neck injury(ceiling collapse)Dr. Saal was able to diagnose & aggressively treat my injury.I ended up having surgery and rehab as well as acupuncture.because of his expertise I am able to continue working and support my family.I am forever grateful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 27th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Saal was unfortunately rude from the get go. His bedside manner is poor. When answering his questions about my problem he barked at me to "Report, not respond!" He was condenscending, defensive, and unaware of his impact on others. I will never see this doctor again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 11th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fabulos doctor, caught what other doctor missed, and got me on my way to improved health and mobililty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2009
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Saal, well thought out diagnosis, fully explained situation.Best in the business
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2009
find someone else!...
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have many problems ,it suffices to say that I know Doctors and this one is not for me. He was suppose to be a second opinion on some neck problems for me. He told me he didnt believe the nerve study i had done. Disagreed with the MRI findings in my neck. I have had three doctors not to mention the radiologist find several issues-this guy dismisses them all with a 10 min review of my 12 year case. UGHHHHH. Go elsewhere please
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 17th, 2009
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He conducted an unnecessary test that he admits has a 15% likelihood of spotting the issue (it found nothing). He ran another test that involved inserting anesthetic into my nerve and he waited until the needle was inches from my arm to explain that if he placed the needle wrong my arm could be permanently paralyzed. His "bedside manner" completely freaked me out. In the end the information resulting from his tests was an expensive waste of time and proved nothing. I received the correct diagnosis elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joel Saal, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Jose, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Robert Millard

28 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ilya Sabsovich

17 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ryan Doan

6 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor