ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joel Saal Is this you?
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
31.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joel Saal?


21 Ratings with 13 Comments

2.3 Rating

January 12th, 2015

Okay doctor, okay practice; generally not a caring environment, however.

I understand they are in business to make a living... essentially to make money, but their process is caring for cattle -- they herd you through the appointments and procedures with next to little TLC and as long as they get their money, they really don't care about the patient's comfort or their ultimate condition.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 4th, 2014

Cares about his patients' outcomes

I have and will highly recommend Dr. Joel Saal, MD. Although he can appear to be "all business," he really seems passionate about making sure his patients receive the care they need.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 15th, 2013

Frustrated and not done yet

Has yet to figure out anything conclusive as to a diagnosis; it's been three months. Wait times are absolutely absurd, and he's *never* less than half an hour late. Supposedly he saw something worth investigating while doing an ultrasound on my wrist, but I have no more conclusive information than "huh, that's funny." Oh, and thank you very much for both forgetting the anesthetic spray for cortisone injections AND not mentioning the forty-eight-hour flare-up of inflammation afterward.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 9th, 2013

Because Dr. Saal is so full of himself, I wanted to ask him if he ever felt the need to ever eat... It's too bad because he may be a good doctor, but it's hard to get past his arrogance...

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2012

Very poor bedside manner

I saw Dr Saal for a severe lumbar spine injury. I have never encountered a man as rude as Dr Saal in my life. He would sware and throw things at me and his staff if things weren't set up just right. During an epidural procedure when he injected the wrong level, he screamed at me, like it was my fault. He may be accurate in diagnosing problems, but I would never wish his treatment on anyone. I am actually surprised he is allowed to practice medicine! Please be careful about choosing him to "care" for you.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 26th, 2011

Worst Bedside Manner EVER

I saw this doctor for tingling in my neck. After waiting 45 min, he treated me like a child and dismissed every thing I had to say. He never listened to me and snapped back when I asked questions (as if I were stupid). He left twice during for personal cell phone calls while I waited in the room! He then said we'd fix it with cortisone shots to my neck! I left and never went back. Fixed my problem with Physical Therapy. He has the worst bedside manner I've ever experienced!!

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2011

saved my life

I am a Firefighter who suffered a possible career ending neck injury(ceiling collapse)Dr. Saal was able to diagnose & aggressively treat my injury.I ended up having surgery and rehab as well as acupuncture.because of his expertise I am able to continue working and support my family.I am forever grateful

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2010

Dr. Saal was unfortunately rude from the get go. His bedside manner is poor. When answering his questions about my problem he barked at me to "Report, not respond!" He was condenscending, defensive, and unaware of his impact on others. I will never see this doctor again!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 11th, 2010

Fabulos doctor, caught what other doctor missed, and got me on my way to improved health and mobililty.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2009

Dr Saal, well thought out diagnosis, fully explained situation.Best in the business

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2009

find someone else!...

I have many problems ,it suffices to say that I know Doctors and this one is not for me. He was suppose to be a second opinion on some neck problems for me. He told me he didnt believe the nerve study i had done. Disagreed with the MRI findings in my neck. I have had three doctors not to mention the radiologist find several issues-this guy dismisses them all with a 10 min review of my 12 year case. UGHHHHH. Go elsewhere please

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 18th, 2009

He conducted an unnecessary test that he admits has a 15% likelihood of spotting the issue (it found nothing). He ran another test that involved inserting anesthetic into my nerve and he waited until the needle was inches from my arm to explain that if he placed the needle wrong my arm could be permanently paralyzed. His "bedside manner" completely freaked me out. In the end the information resulting from his tests was an expensive waste of time and proved nothing. I received the correct diagnosis elsewhere.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joel Saal is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Redwood City, CA.

  • Dr. Christopher Bonzon

    Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Residency

    Redwood City, CA 0 mi

    4.8
    (6)
    12
  • Dr. Rhonda Lambert

    Dr. Rhonda Lambert

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Redwood City, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (5)
    34
  • Dr. Gerald Keane

    Pain Management, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

    Redwood City, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (13)
    35