The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joel Silver Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joel Silver?

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joel Silver?

Ratings and Reviews

19 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 19 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2013

Wonderful doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

April 17th, 2012

DR WHO NEEDS COMPASSION TRANSPLANT

HE IS NOT COMPASSIONATE , HE SEEMS TO ALWAYS BE IN A HURRY TO GET TO THE NEXT PATIENT SOMETIMES HE KEPT LOOKING AT HIS WATCH, HE IS NOT A DR. TO HIS WORD PER SAY...IN MY OPINION FROM MY EXPERIENCE HIS PATIENTS CONCERNS ARE NOT PRIORITY...ETC

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 1st, 2011

My first cancer experiences with Dr. Silver were fine. He seemed quite knowledgeable about my cancer and he seemed to care. I had a near immediate recurrence of my cancer and then I felt like scare tactics were being used to pressure me into making a choice regarding treatment. I changed doctors.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 1st, 2010

Dr Silver has been my hemotologist for many years and I found him very caring and compassionate. I recently needed a oncologist and due to my surgeons reccomendation and hospital affiliation I went with another oncologist only to find that she was not a good fit for me. I then switched mid treatment back to Dr silver. And that was the best decision I could have made. He has made my ordeal so much easier to deal with. He spent many days seeing me in the hospital and he always made me feel at ease. He explained everything so I could easily understand what was happening. His caring and the way he treated me never made me feel like he was rushing. I am still seeing him on a regular basis and totally trust him with all of my healthcare issues. I would highly reccomend him to anyone needing a great doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2010

COLD CASE

seems very incompassionate towards patients, he tends to scare u with your diagnosis and during care, very unreliable in getting in touch with patients in regards to your results, seems too busy always and very rushy when attending to patients, tend to looking at his watch very frequently.hIS OPINION IS NOT ALWAYS CORRECT AS FAR AS TREATMENT GOES, WITH DR. SILVER ITS ALWAYS BETTER TO GET SECOND OPINION, HE DOES NOT PUT PATIENT AT EASE WHEN CARING FOR THEM, HE NEEDS TO SHOW BETTER CARE AND SOME COMPASSION AT LEAST.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 27th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2016

5.0 Rating

April 15th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2015

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2015

2.3 Rating

February 7th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joel Silver is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hartford, CT.

  • Dr. Lynn Davis

    Dr. Lynn Davis

    Medical Oncology, Hematology, Internal Medicine

    Hartford, CT 0 mi

    1.0
    (1)
    41
  • Dr. Jeffrey Wasser

    Dr. Jeffrey Wasser

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, Hematology

    Hartford, CT 0 mi

    1.0
    (2)
    44
  • Dr. Anthony Posteraro Jr

    Dr. Anthony Posteraro Jr

    Diagnostic Radiology, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology

    Hartford, CT 0.25 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    39