Overall Review

4.0
  • 63 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.6)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    62%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Wait Time 19.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was over an hour late for scheduled surgery, did not do what he said he did, which of course was verified by his peers, leaving more damage from scar tissue, as that was ALL that he did, was create scar tissue and then had the nerve to lie about what was said, which was witnessed. Prior to seeing him was just pain, since seeing him- DISABLED!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
All in all was a great experience
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I suffered from back pain for about 18 years and for the past 15, I had sciatic nerve pain on and off. Then this past year the pain just never went away. Dr. Jenkin's staff were able to assist me with making a quick appointment and surgery to relieve the pain but he did more than relieved it because it went away. When I woke up from back surgery, my pain was immediately gone and I can say that I have been happy with the overall surgery and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 1st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
performed my surgery did an excellent job
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Thank you Dr. Jenkins
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A no nonsense very skilled Dr. I Had brain and neck surgery, Fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had surgery in 2011 and he is assume. If I had to do another back surgery I'll call him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2014
BRILLIANT Neurosurgeon
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Jenkins saved my life after a horrific car accident that left me with a broken neck and a complete C5 spinal cord injury causing me to become a quadriplegic. The night of the accident he met with my family and took the time to answer their questions and made sure they understood EXACTLY what my injury entailed and my prognosis. He took the time to sit with my EXTREMELY emotional, upset husband and put his mind at ease prior to my life-saving surgery. Immediately following the accident he performed an anterior fusion and three days later he did a posterior fusion. After I recovered from surgery and was stable enough I transferred to the number one spinal cord injury rehabilitation facility in the US. While there I was under the care of a very picky neurosurgeon that specializes in spinal surgeries. Upon admittance he immediately did a CT scan and wasted no time telling me what an excellent job Dr. Jenkins did on the surgery. Later, my nurses and therapists told me what an unusual compliment that was as he very rarely compliments other surgeons and even goes so far as to redo approximately 90% of his patients surgeries. Dr. Jenkins made sure to follow up with me after I returned to Orlando following rehab. At my office visit he was professional, courteous and took the time to answer ALL our questions and made sure we understood his answers. He was very honest and up-front about my prognosis. He and his staff were all warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend Dr. Jenkins to any one. He is one of the best in the country - a truly BRILLIANT, caring neurosurgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Just met with Dr Jenkins for the first time today. Based on reviews, I was expecting someone different. He was friendly and took what I felt was an appropriate amount of time. We even had some small talk. I'll be following up in two weeks, but so far so good. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2011
Dr Jenkins is the reason I am walking today!!!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
For the person who wrote" that Dr Jenkins will not care about you if you do not have good health insurance" sure got it all wrong... I was taken to Orlando East with a L5 S1 injury after I had my surgery a year before. What was left of my left side of disc exploded and was very close to my spinal chord. Dr Jenkins was called at Orlando South for a consult over the phone. Mind you that I have Medicaid, He had me air lifted really fast to him. I have never felt more comfortable meeting anyone than I was meeting him. He did tell me that it was possible I might not be able to walk again but.... He made sure that did not happen. I love Dr Jenkins for everything that he did for me and will refer him to anyone who need back surgery. He is a great Surgeon and I am thankful that he answered that call.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2011
Great Experiences
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Never waited more than 20 min to see Doctor. I hate long appointments and every appointment was clear, focused and to the point. Recovery after surgery was shorter than expected and the pain went away soon after. Within a few wekks I was able to regain my normal life activities with minor adjustments. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 14th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Jenkins is a brilliant neurusurgeon. I sought him out because he is one of best in his field. He fused two discs in my neck 6 months ago and it is even better than I expected. This past month I had 2 lumbar discectomies and a lamonectomy at l5 /s1 followed by an emergency coronary stent while I was recovering from the back surgery. Although he is not very talkative, he is straight and to the point. I find that if I do stop him, he will slow down and spend more time. He has always answered any and all questions I may have had and made certain I was not suffering needlessly. While in the hospital, he took time to come see me even though I was under the care of the ER doctors. He consulted with all of us concerning the angiogram and possible angioplasty. If you want a brilliant surgeon, he's your man. If you want someone to hold your hand and tell bedtime stories, I think he has more critical things to do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 5th, 2011
I'll Never Return
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I had two appointments with this Dr. He was rude and though I have great difficulty moving he told me to "hop" on the table, I barely move. Getting down was horrible and he never asked if he could assist me. He refused to answer questions the first time, when I went for my second appt. I asked about a specific type of surgery since he didn't mention it as an option (although another doctor said it was the best). He told me to my face he never heard of it -I found that shocking especially since he mentions it on his website. He told me my success was very limited essentially telling to do nothing and live on variety of pain pills. I believe the limited insurance reimbursement had a significant influence on the surgery suggested as well as his callus attitude. The fact he lied to me sends warning bells -what if you have a problem? Will he be honest with you? What about if he were in court? He is a cold, heartless man. Unless, you have great insurance, don't waste your time and hopes. My friends were appalled when I recounted my experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Jenkins, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Winter Park, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Melvin Field

20 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ravi Gandhi

8 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Donald Behrmann

30 years experience

3.7 of 5