Overall Review

3.7
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.8)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    52%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 30.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

3.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2016
Dr. Allendorf
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Allendorf has performed 3 major abdominal surgeries on me. He was always very honest, caring and willing to listen and answer ( discuss) my situation. I thank God for me being led to Dr. Allendorf. I have been blessed with many years with my family beyond the expectations for my disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2013
Rush-Rush! Shop Around and See
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I ultimately decided to choose another surgeon because I came to him with hyperparathyroidism and with stabbing neck pain and a fever from what later turned out to be a raging infection in my throat.(They routinely take your temperature before you see the doctor here.) You really don't want a big mess going on in your throat when you're planning parathyroid surgery. But he wasn't interested, didn't look(then why take the patient's temperature?), and didn't recommend a doctor who could help me. Total focus on the conveyor-belt of booking and doing operations. In the informational material he gave out, they tell you that after the surgery, any follow-up visits will be strictly limited to, to the best of my recollection, 15 minutes. Really? When I postponed my surgery date due to a still out of control infection, the surgical booker just said listlessly, "Yeah, well, I guess you wouldn't want to do that. OK, call me when you want to." When I saw what others had written here, especially about the surgeon running out of time to finish the op so the patient had to go back for another one, I thanked heavens for Vitals.com and those who write reviews and looked for another surgeon. The next surgeon I found took his time, examined me, offered to send me to an ENT (a fine one) and did a careful, caring removal of my bad parathyroid. I liked Dr. Allendorf; it's a pity the man's in such a rush. That frightened me away. Patients are stars, too, Dr. A.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 20th, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good no great, attentive staff, overall impressed with knowledge and surgical skill
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 27th, 2012
As others say: A highly skilled Surgeon...
Wait time
30 minutes
I could hardly have chosen a better surgeon than Dr Allendorf. He is perhaps not the most attentive Dr but I had a total thyroidectomy & several lymph nodes removed & I was concerned about scaring. The recovery in ICU was as good as it gets & there is virtually no scaring. The operation took a long time & some infected lymph nodes were missed. Not his fault. It was a judgement call as time was a constraint. I ended up going back to let him finish the job. Again, time in ICU ran smooth & no scaring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2011
Most wonderful doctor. Saved my son.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor saved my son's life through his excellent surgery to remove a cancerous thyroid. He is a wonderful caring, talented man and his staff were all excellent. He made a terrible experience bearable and created a great outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2011
Kind, Compassionate, Skilled and Talented!!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had surgery with Dr. Allendorf, and due to a congenital anatomical anomaly, he was unable to do exactly what he needed to. Before rushing into another procedure, he obtained additional extensive diagnostic testing and then referred me to a wonderful thoracic surgeon. When it came time for a second surgery, he showed up and scrubbed for it even though he didn't have to, just to see things through to the end. To this day, he is kind and receptive of any questions when I email him. I really could not have asked for a better Dr. I would never hesitate in using him again or referring anyone I know to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2011
No bedside manner
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Allendorf is known to be a talented surgeon. However, patients with cancer require more than a gifted doctor, they also need to deal with a human being who understands their plight. Dr. Allendorf is arrogant and incredibly condescending. Patients would be better served by other doctors at Columbia or at Sloan Kettering. No patient deserves to be treated with such disrespect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 4th, 2011
Bad Experience
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Will not use again perfer my old doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 29th, 2008
An angry doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Why did he choose to do this? He doesn't care about his patients, he resents any questions that I try to ask him, making me feel stupid, hardy spends any time talking to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Allendorf, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mineola, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Benjamin Hagendorf

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Brooks

44 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Rita Malhotra

20 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor