Dr. John Bell-Thomson MD Patient Reviews

  • Vascular Surgery Buffalo, NY

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.5)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    75%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 16 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
September 27th, 2016
Aortic valve replacement in 2010, unfortunately need another one due to valve-patient mismatch, not happy. Saw him once on discharge after the surgery. Don't know how I would feel if the correct valve were put in. The heart center staff was fantastic. I would not see him again. He was asked to leave his position at Mercy and now is at ECMC, which is the same hospital that sued him before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 20th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr, Bell-Thompson changed my surgery appointment 5 times, causing my family and myself much anxiety and inconvenience. During the surgery something happened which caused me to have a stroke (which they were unaware of), and from which I have never recovered despite 1-1/2 years of rehab. Needless to say my experience with this doctor was horrible and I would NEVER recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 13th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saved my life!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2013
Mr.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bell-Thomson did my open heart surgery in 1994 when OI was 49. I'd have him do another open heart if I had to again. Hopefully I won't need another. He performed a "warm heart" surgery that he has a patent on, and I had minimal problems on recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2012
TRIPLE BYPASS SURGERY
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bell-Thompson is a very dedicated man;initial appointment told me to call office if I had any questions at any time. Spent time with me explaining procedure. At time of surgery; came outto see my family; telling them how things were going and then spoke at length to them after surgery. Since my surgery, I have come in contact with many people who have had Dr. Bell Thomson perform surgery on them. They have all had wonderful things to say about him. I would recommand him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2010
Atrio-Fib Corrected
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I met Dr. Bell-Thomson about a year ago, and was referred to him for my atrio-fib. I found him very candid and extremely interesting in explaining my condition and his proposed procedure-the Mini-Maze. He was very encouraging and convinced me it would work. It did! Anyone with a-fib should see him. He is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Bell-Thomson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Buffalo, NY.