Dr. John Binhlam MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology Brentwood, TN

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.2)

41 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    12%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 31.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2017
Crème of the crop!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Binhlam, was the best dermatologist I went to when I lived in the suburbs of Nashville. He appropriately correctly diagnosed my skin condition, and treated in accordingly. I had been to several derms in the area and was always told it was adult acne. He also found a pre-cancerous lesion that could have been fatal. Yes, there is a wait time, but to me his expertise was well worth it. I wish I still lived within close proximity to continue being treated by Dr. Binhlam.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 7th, 2016
Screen for pre cancer
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 1st, 2016
Refusing to see patients
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband went to Dr. Binhlam a few years ago. We have insurance but there was a mix up. Our insurance told us we did not need to pay anything. However, the doctor still billed us and turned our bill over to collections. We are talking about an amount under $30 here. Years later he needed a dermatologist so we called. They would not allow us to pay the amount due. We found out Dr. Binhlam said he did not want to see my husband again. So, you have to wonder how willing this doctor is in considering his patients needs. We certainly won't be bothering Dr. Binhlam again. And, if I were you, I would go to some other doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 13th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
seems to be a long wait time after in the exam room.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Most thorough dermatologist I have seen. Identified problems immediately.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 31st, 2014
Misdiagnosed pre-cancerous skin lesion
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a scaly dry area of skin under my eye which this doc said was sebacious hyperplasia...a harmless change in oil glands or something. He wanted to laser it off. It was M=millimeters under my eye. I got a second opinion at a skin cancer specialist. They scraped a sample and it was a pre-cancerious skin lesion. Got liquid chemo and it was gone, never returned. Also one of his aestheticians lasered some age spots on my hand. I developed severe burns and now have two large scars that look like raised warts near my thumb where the age spots burned and it never healed right. I don't go there anymore.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2014
Business professional
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fabulous doctor! I would highly recommend!

1.0 of 5
February 16th, 2013
Worst doctor ever, set me back 12 months
Wait time
5 minutes
A friend recommended him and i went in for a few moles, cystic acne and itchy scalp. All he would recommend for my acne was acutane. I told him i had eliminated dairy and it improved. He laughed and said there was no way diet could help my skin. For the scalp he assured me it was cradle cap and prescribed hundreds of dollars in pharmacuetical garbage. The moles he said he could remove right then; i asked how long it would take as i was a nurse and had to get to work. He assured me it would just take 15 minutes. He told me to undress and he'd be right back. Almost an hour later as i'm freezing, getting up to leave, he comes in. Took a few weeks to hear the results as he moved locations. Anyway the moral of the story is I was right, diet did help i no longer have acne or the scalp condition and if he had been a real doctor and looked at it under a microscope he would have seen candida. Too bad i believed him at first about the diet and wasted a year of life and tons of money.

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2013
Independent contractor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Binhlam is a very caring physician. He accurately diagnosed my daughter's issue with acanthoses nigricaine as associated with insulin resistance after we have spent a full year seeing other physicians and dermatologists without any resolution. Now, my daughter is being seen by an endocrinologist and her problem is getting so much better. Dr Binhlam still called to check her condition even after 2 months of seeing him. We just love Dr. Binhlam.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 19th, 2013
Terrible, incompetent, and unprofessional. Stay away.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
AVOID Dr. Binlham. He is a terrible listener, and clearly just out there to cash in on cosmetic procedures. Zero medical competence when it comes to real dermatology, no bedside manners, and makes his patients wait up to 1 hour on a regular basis. Unacceptable behavior. I will never go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2011
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Easily the best dermatologist I have ever been too! He has great bedside manners and is excellent at explaining my skin problems. I highly recommend him. He is simply wonderful when it comes to cosmetic procedures. I wouldn't go to anyone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
May 2nd, 2011
Expect to have hours of your day wasted
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My biggest complaint is that both times I have been I have waited over 2 hours to see the doctor. In addition, he only spent about 5 minutes (if that) and did very little in the way of re-assuring or advising against skin cancer, etc. Will not be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Binhlam, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Brentwood, TN.