Dr. John Birkedal MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Winston Salem, NC

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.9)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    67%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    17%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    17%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 17.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 16th, 2017
Dr John P Birkedal MD
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a 70 year old female who has worked hard all her life and am now retired. I was at the point where I could hardly walk and the back pain I was experiencing was horrendous. I have had Chronic Back pain for many years but I had stepped off a curb and twisted my back and my vertebrae shattered. Dr Birkedal, after sending me to therapy, did surgery and from the moment I recovered from sedation, I have not felt any back pain-in that area- again. That was over a year ago. Oh, and by the way, before surgery, I walked with a stoop. The first time I stood up my back was strait. My granddaughter told me I was walking and standing strait!. Dr Birkedal is a God Send.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2016
No regrets
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Birkedal performed ACDF to fuse C3-C4 in late January. The results to date have been excellent - feeling has returned to my hands and legs. I would highly recommend Dr Birkkedal. He listens and explains in a very personal way and even asked that I spend some time evaluating options before making a decision on surgery. He is obviously a skilled surgeon and combining that skillset with his "bedside manner" made my decision very easy. No regrets.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 21st, 2013
Didn't even make appt..
Wait time
5 minutes
Friendly Staff
I have to admit I never even saw this doctor but was encouraged by his previous reviews. That's as far as it went. When I called to question his staff on appointment availability and what was needed on a first appointment, I was talked to so rudely that I decided I would rather find someone else than deal with a staff so hard to work with before you even became a patient....too bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very kind and courteous. He really knows what he is doing and cares about his patients. Very happy with my outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2012
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful surgeon. Very caring and knowledgable. Repaired three cervical vertebrae on my 84 year old mother who had broken her neck. She is still doing exceptionally well four years later thanks to this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 1st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 10th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
September 11th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 27th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 21st, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
May 29th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Birkedal, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Winston Salem, NC.