The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Burns Is this you?
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
6.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Burns?


9 Ratings with 5 Comments

4.0 Rating

July 11th, 2016

Great doctor

After my GI dr of 20 years retired I had to find another. Dr Burns is kind and does not rush through your visit with him, is prompt and intelligent. I thought I would never find someone as good as my former dr but Dr Burns fits the bill. The staff is very caring also. The only negative I have is when I have a problem I have to see a PA and don't get a follow up visit with Dr Burns. But I think that is where medicine is headed partly due to a shortage of specialists. so the good specialists like Dr Burns are in high demand. I would highly recommend Dr Burns

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 21st, 2013

Dr Burns and Purcell Are the Best

I am a 52 YO Male diagnosed with Chronic Pancreatitis. Dr Burns and Dr Purcell are my Gastroenterologists. They are the best in the business. Lauren Fabian is who for office visits and she is fantastic. She treats me as a person, not as a patient. Lauren is the Best! All of the Staff at Susquehanna Gastroenterology are the best!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2013

So good I make the drive to see him!

I was diagnosed in 2004 with moderate-severe Crohns Disease and Colitis. I owe him my life. He AND his staff listen with great patience and understanding and over the years they have become my friends. I feel comfortable in his care and know without a doubt that he will do exactly what I need done to make my life better. I even moved an hour and a half away and will make the drive to see him for my care. His bedside manner is outstanding and he does make you feel like you are his only patient. His nurses are awesome and always make you feel the same. Because of my illness I do not have an issue with scheduling appointments and am never waiting much more than 10-15 minutes to see him. I know I sound like I am going overboard, but all I have said is true. I have never had a bad experience with them and would recommend them to everyone.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2012

he is the best doctor ive met he is kind caring and good at what he does he is a doctor that really does care for his patent hes bedside manor is excellent i would recommend hom to anyone

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 2nd, 2009

Our visit

Getting an appointment took some time but I was very pleased with the doctor. Our last visit we did have to wait a while in the waiting room. But we have seen this doctor before and that was the first time that I had to wait. He has a great bedside manner and seems to be very caring. His staff was pleasant as well.

Doctor's Response

I am constantly looking to improve our wait time for appointments. Unfortunately a physician shortage truely does exist in Central Pennsylvania, especially for specialists. However, I try very hard to take my time with each patient, and do the best that I can.

SHOW
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

May 1st, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 19th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2009

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Burns is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Montoursville, PA.

  • Dr. Miguel Arguedas

    Dr. Miguel Arguedas

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Montoursville, PA 0 mi

    4.9
    (9)
    22
  • Dr. Robert Purcell Jr

    Dr. Robert Purcell Jr

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Montoursville, PA 0 mi

    4.5
    (4)
    36
  • Dr. Edward Gusick III

    Sports Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Montoursville, PA 1.02 mi

    4.5
    (4)
    9