The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Pittman Is this you?
  • 17
  • 3
  • 7
  • 3
  • 19

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
18.1 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Pittman?


49 Ratings with 21 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 8th, 2017

Run.

RUN. NOW. We just hired a group of lawyers. This practice must be shut down. Pure charlatans!!! The negative reviews you read are all true. I didn't believe it at first until almost a near death experience with this practice and doctor. They will steal your money and use classic NLP tactics to make you feel they are you're only solution. Please by all means, run the other way!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 6th, 2016

He tried to convince me that I had Lyme disease and multiple other tickborne diseases when I tested negative on all of the tests. I understand the Lyme test can be negative, but how could EVERYTHING he claimed I had show up negative? That's a bit fishy. He also treated me for thyroid and adrenal problems and when I went back to look at my lab results years later I realized that they were both in the normal range. Basically, he ignores all tests and prescribes whatever he feels like will help him keep your business and then keeps updating his new "theories" and adding new expensive and unproven treatments. He should be arrested for malpractice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 5th, 2016

Misdiagnosed with Lyme Disease. He's a fraud you just wants to take your money. Doesn't follow test results. Go in with made up symptoms and he'll find something wrong with you. He doesn't review past medical records for accurate history. His license has been suspended before it should be suspended again.

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 8th, 2016

Dr. Pittman saved my daughter's life, there's just no other way to say it. After 3 years of searching for answers and Dr. after Dr. telling us nothing is wrong...we found Dr. Pittman and within a year my daughter was able to function again. When we first came to see him she was having seizure like activity, passing out, going blind, and couldn't remember anything. We owe Dr. Pittman everything! He, Carrie and the rest of his staff has truly been a blessing!! Thank you so much for what you do and for saying our daughter's life!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2016

Terrible Business

This business will schedule appointments without your knowledge, then charge you very high fees for missing or canceling it. They prey on people who are weak. A quick google of the practice and you will see all of the complaints. They will literally bleed you for thousands and thousands of dollars. Find a practice with moral and reputable business practices. You should be focused on your health and not have to spend energy fighting their billing department.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 7th, 2016

Total money loving vampires with no soul. Seem "nice" at first.

Two years of "treatment" 0% improvement. 1000s of dollars wasted. The office staff are sisters of the traveling pants, no matter how incompetent they are, they blamed me/other patients for their mistakes. Last visit i was asked to open my email account to PROVE I sent an email (and wasnt just lying). Their patient liaison did not call me back in the full two years I was a patient and only responded to two emails. Kept suggesting I was lying. Wouldnt be a problem except no one answers the main phone line either. When I told them I had enough of their games, they magically recalled something that might help me (Marcon's) and then wanted 1250+ dollars JUST to test for it. No shame, no accountability, and apparently no male staff other than the wimpy, sneaky, and ineffectual Dr Pittman himself. After I proved I was not lying, and asked why they had not improved my symptoms in two years...I was told "YOU HAVE A BAD ATTITUDE". Then on the car ride home, I got a call from them where they offered to let me pay "two easy payments of 675". Run dont walk away from this place.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 29th, 2015

Horrified

In several months of treatment I never saw Dr. Pittman. He might be well-known and recognized for his accomplishments but good luck getting an appointment with him. If that isn't enough, his office staff is acutely unorganized and quick to put blame for their lack of professionalism on the patient. Found another doctor who remarked that my case was one of gross negligence! This office should be shut down! FDA investigation suggested! Don't suffer under this doctor's care. Find another doctor!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2015

A Fine Surgeon/High Standards

Dr. Pittman and his staff at the Williamsburg, VA location are warm, caring and the height of professionalism. Dr. Pittman is a fine surgeon who is attentive and answers all questions and addresses any concerns patient may have regarding a procedure.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 18th, 2015

I have never had a doctor examine and treat like this before. I am very impressed and after 8 years with several traditional medical doctors I feel great! Thank you!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2015

The diagnostic and medical treatment was excellent, but the overall experience with the office staff was so difficult that we had to leave and find another doctor. Staff made too many mistakes. Always a comedy of errors. When we were confused or aggravated by their mistakes, it was always our fault. It's not possible to get through to Dr. Pittman. We didn't see him once in 4 months. Dr. Pittman doesn't seem to pay attention or care. Disorganized. No follow-up.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 9th, 2013

Wonderful Doctor!!!

Dr. Pittman is the best doctor I have ever encountered in my 66 years. He is extremely knowledgeable and thorough and literally saved my life after a number of misdiagnoses from supposed specialists. The negative reviews are ridiculous and are obviously from patients who probably were incapable of understanding what he told them and probably were not able to follow his instructions. If you cannot think "outside the box" and follow his protocols he is not the doc for you. On the other hand, if you have a difficult medical condition there is no one better able to diagnose and treat you.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 8th, 2013

Run

He has told a few of my friends they owed him money when they didn't. He will yell at you if you question him and puts you on tons of meds. He and his staff are terrible! I was warned but went to him anyway. I should've known better. He doesn't care about anything other than money!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Pittman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Raleigh, NC.

  • Dr. Ernest Braasch

    General Practice, Psychiatry

    Raleigh, NC 0.09 mi

    3.9
    (6)
    46
  • Dr. Douglas Hammer

    Dr. Douglas Hammer

    Family Medicine, Preventive Medicine

    Raleigh, NC 0.18 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    51
  • Dr. Lisa Christianson

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, General Practice

    Raleigh, NC 0.20 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    16