The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Cilluffo Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Cilluffo?

Parkinson’s Disease

Get the facts about Parkinson’s disease, including symptoms and how the disease progresses over time.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Cilluffo?

Ratings and Reviews

36 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    14
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    14

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 36 Ratings with 11 Comments

1.0 Rating

November 9th, 2016

Awful experience

I waited over 2 hours for my appointment. I went in full of hope that I might finally have an end all to the years of chronic back pain I have struggled to endure. I left the office full of darkness and despair. His horrible demeanor damaging my fragile physichie. He is apparently certain I cannot avoid a diaper and a wheelchair without him and his blade and his unrealistic demands. If you are looking for a non invasive surgery this is not the place to go.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 7th, 2016

Beware! He is a horrible doctor who ruined my mothers quality of life in her retirement years. 3 back surgeries and brain surgery (because she lost so much spinal fluid) She can not walk without a walker and she is not the same person. To top it all off, he is rude and does not seem to care what he has done.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2016

I just love him!

I am very pleased with Dr. Culiffo, he was very accurate with his diagnosis of my brain tumor and the surgery went well. Follow ups continue go well.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 9th, 2015

Doctor Flies to Great Lengths to Help Accident Victim

This is rather late in coming. But didn't realize this site was here. In 2007 my boyfriend was in a serious accident. Dr. Cilluffo needed to see an MRI and it was time sensitive as he was flying to San Diego for a conference. We didn't get the MRI in the time frame needed - but Dr. flew back from San Diego, did emergency surgery, made sure everything was ok the next day and then flew back to his conference. I will be forever grateful for the care and concern we were shown during this tragedy. Thank YOU Dr. Cilluffo

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 14th, 2015

Operated on back and lost bowels and no control, cannot urinate and must use catheters, leg hurts and stays swollen, back hurts, cannot sleep,

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2015

I'm an R.N., I have worked with many doctors over my 32 years and Dr. Cilluffo is the worst...he talks at you, not with you...he is rude, condescending, a know it all with a God complex! After two visits (I always give people a second chance), I decided that my first visit was not a fluke and that he truly is a donkey's butt. I have moved on to another physician who treats me like a person and spends time talking with me...I am now scheduled for surgery with a physician I can trust!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 26th, 2013

Find another surgeon

Dr. Cilluffo did not help me at all after 2 surgeries in less than a year. I ended up having to go to another surgeon to have him fix what Dr. Cillufo messed up. My screws were loose and my fusion never fused together. His office staff is wonderful but that's the only good thing I can say.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

October 20th, 2010

He has a God-complex. It was the worst experience we ever had with a Doctor. I do not recommend. He not only has no bedside manner, he is also outright rude with no compassion at all. Look elsewhere!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2010

If Dr. Cilluffo doesn't think he can helpyou, he will tell you. Very up front. Makes sure you understand what needs to be done, does it, and even will give you a picture of what he did. Can't say enough good about the man.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2010

the bottom line is...

Dr. C is a straight forward man. He tells you like it is and gives you all the information you need to make a decision. He is not one to jump into surgery. If you, like me, need surgery this is the doctor you want. Your recovery also is straight forward. The Rx is walk and he gives you a cd of exercises to help you recover and stay healthy! He is a serious man, not much of a sense of humor (I think), as he should be since what he works on is very serious. He is a nice and caring doctor who give you the bottom line. He usually runs behind in his office visits, which doesn't bother me since I know this and take something to read or do while I wait. It is sort of a good down time. :) The office staff in TC are sweet and helpful. This is the doctor you want to operate on your back!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 29th, 2009

He did hand surgery in addition to cervical diskectomy. My median nerve is permanently damaged. I have been told by other specialist that my hand surgery was NOT needed. My nerves are permantently destroyed.EMG testing and more. I live in chronic pain daily. He should be monitored on a regular basis.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

August 7th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Cilluffo is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Petoskey, MI.

  • Dr. David Morris

    Neurological Surgery

    Petoskey, MI 2.15 mi

    3.7
    (16)
    35
  • Dr. Jayant Jagannathan

    Neurological Surgery

    Petoskey, MI 2.22 mi

    4.8
    (93)
    14
  • Dr. Raymond Rawson

    Neurological Surgery

    Petoskey, MI 5.02 mi

    3.6
    (6)
    17