The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Costable Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

64 Ratings • 14 Comments

4.1
  • 46
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5
  • 9

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Costable Jr?

Showing 12 of 64 Ratings

One Star

Posted on April 4th, 2017

Paid my co pay on my office visit and on procedure day want me to pay another copay also his anesthesiology is in my net work but bill my insurance very high and want me to pay the insurance differenence which my benefits states there is no copay ,co insurance and deductible and his billing clerk is very unprofessional.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not a good doctor anymore

Posted on September 20th, 2016

Have been a patient since 2011. Very conscientious at first, but through the years seems to brush me off when issues come up, saying you are getting older, should expect things like that. Maybe I am getting older but so is he, and maybe his health is not so good anymore either, in fact, I know his health is not so good anymore, but no reason he should let it affect my health. I recently changed over to another GI doc. This doc does take me seriously and has taken care of my problems. He does not chalk them up to me getting older. At one time I recommended this doctor, but I no longer can. Look elsewhere.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 29th, 2016

Polyp removed and sent to lab mislabeled in different area. Thank God it was benign. Doctor took over a week to return call. Not professional

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 28th, 2016

Dr Costable is the absolute best!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 10th, 2015

Truly a caring, concerned and extremely knowledgeable physician.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Used to Be An Excellent Doctor

Posted on January 19th, 2015

10 years ago Dr. Costable was wonderful & caring. Now he has multiple problems with his billing, rude staff and constantly bloew me off about stomach probelms saying I had IBS and their is no cure, rhynme or reason. While I continued to tell him about problems with dairy foods, he did only a perfunctory test for Lactose Intolerance and Gluten Intolerance. Went to another doctor who I hear speak at aseminar and through extensive testing found I have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, partial lactose intolerance and total intolerance to high fructose corn syrup. Following gluten free /modified lactose diet from this other doctor, I am now 40 punds thinner and have very infrequent stomach problems.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doc!

Posted on January 16th, 2015

Dr. Costable is a kind, compassionate physician. He gives each patient the time they need.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 8th, 2015

Excellent Doctor; very compassionate and funny. Staff is wonderful also.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Professional and Courteous!

Posted on July 3rd, 2014

The doctor and the staff are courteous, pleasant as well as efficient. Of course very organized and warm. If only I could clone this office for all my other medical needs. Dr. Costable has a kind and thoughtful bedside manner as well as his staff. One of the best doctors in Long Island! It is a pleasure writing this review!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 8th, 2014

He is a compassionate dr. always looks out for your best interest.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Teacher

Posted on February 17th, 2014

Dr. Costable is a kind,caring physician who spends time with patients and always allays any fears as he answers all questions and gives all information needed for procedures and office visits. His staff is wonderful and caring,courteous and helpful especially when it concerns insurance information.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful, caring physician. Listens and easy to talk to

Posted on May 25th, 2011

My whole family uses him and we are very happy with his office and care

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Costable Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New Hyde Park, NY.