Dr. John Dawkins MD Patient Reviews

  • Sports Medicine San Diego, CA

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-2.4)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    33%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 7.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 21st, 2017
Avoid at all costs
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst doctor I have ever seen in my life (and I have seen doctors in several countries). He only cares about the insurance companies, and he is proud of it. He refuses to give tests for co-infections when my son is clearly sick, and has a positive test (given by another doctor). He does not even know what the test results mean. I needed to educate him by sending him the CDC interpretations of the test results. The worst experience ever!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 21st, 2017
Avoid at all costs if you care about your health
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst doctor I have ever seen in my life (and I have seen doctors in several countries). He only cares about the insurance companies, and he is proud of it. He refuses to give tests for co-infections when my son is clearly sick, and has a positive test (given by another doctor). He does not even know what the test results mean. I needed to educate him by sending him the CDC interpretations of the test results. The worst experience ever!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2013
Excellent Service--Accurate & Attentive
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
For a couple of years now, I have seen Dr. Dawkins for my own medical concerns and he has served as the physician for my daughter when she has needed sports medicine treatment for a few sports-related injuries. Dr. Dawkins is fantastic-as is the staff at the Del Mar Scripps Family Clinic. Dr. Dawkins has been spot on with every diagnosis. He responds to questions whether posed during the consultation or later via a follow-up phone call. Not only are his diagnoses accurate but the treatment plans are successful (the complaints mentioned in the other reviews are kind of shocking to me). We always feel like Dr. Dawkins has our best interests at heart. The staff at the clinic are friendly and efficient. In short, we highly recommend Dr. Dawkins.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 24th, 2013
Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Dawkins recently because I had several symptoms, including chest pain, sharp pain in my left foot, aches in my leg from a previous dog bite, and neck pain due to a previous muscle strain. Dr. Dawkins did not even allow me to finish explaining my symptoms before cutting me off and suggesting I take antacids for chest pain. I continued to explain that I really did not feel that it was acid reflux that was causing my chest pain, since I had experienced that before, and I knew that this pain was different. He cut me off again, saying that we were cutting into the next patient's time, even though it had been under 10 minutes. My appointment was a couple of weeks ago, and I am extremely disappointed. I have another appointment with him soon, and hopefully he will prove that this last experience was out of the ordinary for him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 3rd, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very junior. Didn't seem to listen or ask probing questions to try and better understand the issues at hand. Seemed quick to dismiss things without taking the matter seriously or taking the steps to find answers. I had to be proactive to get a referral to a specialists. He didn't offer any resolution to the matter or next steps to try and get one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2015

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Dawkins, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.