Dr. John Maher MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.6
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.2)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    24%
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 21.7 minutes
  • Bedside Manner

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

3.0 of 5
November 1st, 2016
Mr.
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
OK, but pricy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2015
Cataract Surgery One eye.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Dr. Was very happy with the surgery. The Surgery Center staff was great. The Dr was Very empathetic as I was quite apprehensive about the lens replacement. It went smoothly with little pain and the follow up appointments were almost not needed. Was able to see great the next day, the Dr said to leave the eye covered until the followup but being an idiot I peeked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2014
Good for Cataract Surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Idea of having ones eye's cut is very frightening. Center we went to was very nice. Used a freeze spray for IV which helped a lot. Staff very attentive. Not much pain after surgery. Eye with drops healed after 2 weeks and vision is good. Doctor is attentive, reassuring, and a good listener. He knows his stuff and is very nice. Never had to wait long and staff in office is really nice in person and on the phone. Takes medi-medi: a plus. Usually such doctors tend to be overbooked and tired but Dr. Maher is neither. Hes a good person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2014
Ddi a great job on Cataract Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did it on my sister who due to disability has the maturity of a child. Such a surgery would have been very traumatic but the center Dr Maher sent her did was excellent and the results were good: not much pain and eye has good vision now. Dr Maher was gentle, reassuring, and my sister came out of it like it was almost nothing. She did have some expected post operative pain which hydrocodone for a 3-7 days did fine for her. After 2 weeks of drops the eye is doing well and she can see. She is not afraid of having the other eye done. Would recommend this doctor. Also one of the few doctors that takes medi-medi. I think he does this because he is a good person. Medi-medi doctors tend to be overbooked and tired but Dr Maher was neither. The staff in his office is very good too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 9th, 2012
Awesome!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First off, I am a 37yr old police officer and I find it funny some of the comments for this doctor. My experiences with Dr. Maher are very much the opposite. Out of three visits I had, I only had a total of 5 minutes logged in the waiting room. He is a brilliant mind and sometimes brilliant minds, much like Einstein, are a little eccentric. I find him extremely funny including from his no waist time visits to his confident and accurate diagnosis. I have never had issues with the staff either. I would recommend this office and doctor to my family and friends. Just be ready to laugh because if you weren't smiling before you arrived, I bet you will be when you leave.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff seemed reasonably friendly on my last visit, but I had been there before and they were downright rude that time. Dr. M does a really poor, rushed, incomplete exam. He kept saying that I really didn't need to see him. (I had not seen an eye Dr. in 3 years, and I was there for an eye exam.) He took my money any way. I do not trust the prescription he gave me, so I am going to go to another Dr. Dr. M seems really disjointed and spacey--a little frightening.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 5th, 2012
Staff knew my vision would get worse after surgery.
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Maher and partner schedule one-day cataract surgery mills. I believe he operates to almost guarantee need for follow-up capsulotomy. During return office check, the staff obviously knew my vision would deteriorate to need capsulotomy, which his office also offers (not surprisingly)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 9th, 2011
Wish I had never gone
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He rushed through my exam, never let me ask questions, rapid fire questions at me while not waiting for a response. Then went on to give me a scary and inaccurate diagnoses. Wish I had never gone there. A waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Maher, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Torrance, CA.

Doctor

Arbi Khemichian

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Peter F Mastan

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Shyun Jeng

37 years experience

1.7 of 5