ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Maher III Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Maher III?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Maher III?

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 26 Ratings with 8 Comments

3.0 Rating

November 1st, 2016

Mr.

OK, but pricy

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 16th, 2015

Cataract Surgery One eye.

Great Dr. Was very happy with the surgery. The Surgery Center staff was great. The Dr was Very empathetic as I was quite apprehensive about the lens replacement. It went smoothly with little pain and the follow up appointments were almost not needed. Was able to see great the next day, the Dr said to leave the eye covered until the followup but being an idiot I peeked.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2014

Good for Cataract Surgery

Idea of having ones eye's cut is very frightening. Center we went to was very nice. Used a freeze spray for IV which helped a lot. Staff very attentive. Not much pain after surgery. Eye with drops healed after 2 weeks and vision is good. Doctor is attentive, reassuring, and a good listener. He knows his stuff and is very nice. Never had to wait long and staff in office is really nice in person and on the phone. Takes medi-medi: a plus. Usually such doctors tend to be overbooked and tired but Dr. Maher is neither. Hes a good person.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2014

Ddi a great job on Cataract Surgery

He did it on my sister who due to disability has the maturity of a child. Such a surgery would have been very traumatic but the center Dr Maher sent her did was excellent and the results were good: not much pain and eye has good vision now. Dr Maher was gentle, reassuring, and my sister came out of it like it was almost nothing. She did have some expected post operative pain which hydrocodone for a 3-7 days did fine for her. After 2 weeks of drops the eye is doing well and she can see. She is not afraid of having the other eye done. Would recommend this doctor. Also one of the few doctors that takes medi-medi. I think he does this because he is a good person. Medi-medi doctors tend to be overbooked and tired but Dr Maher was neither. The staff in his office is very good too.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 10th, 2012

Awesome!

First off, I am a 37yr old police officer and I find it funny some of the comments for this doctor. My experiences with Dr. Maher are very much the opposite. Out of three visits I had, I only had a total of 5 minutes logged in the waiting room. He is a brilliant mind and sometimes brilliant minds, much like Einstein, are a little eccentric. I find him extremely funny including from his no waist time visits to his confident and accurate diagnosis. I have never had issues with the staff either. I would recommend this office and doctor to my family and friends. Just be ready to laugh because if you weren't smiling before you arrived, I bet you will be when you leave.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 9th, 2012

The staff seemed reasonably friendly on my last visit, but I had been there before and they were downright rude that time. Dr. M does a really poor, rushed, incomplete exam. He kept saying that I really didn't need to see him. (I had not seen an eye Dr. in 3 years, and I was there for an eye exam.) He took my money any way. I do not trust the prescription he gave me, so I am going to go to another Dr. Dr. M seems really disjointed and spacey--a little frightening.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 5th, 2012

Staff knew my vision would get worse after surgery.

Maher and partner schedule one-day cataract surgery mills. I believe he operates to almost guarantee need for follow-up capsulotomy. During return office check, the staff obviously knew my vision would deteriorate to need capsulotomy, which his office also offers (not surprisingly)

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 9th, 2011

Wish I had never gone

He rushed through my exam, never let me ask questions, rapid fire questions at me while not waiting for a response. Then went on to give me a scary and inaccurate diagnoses. Wish I had never gone there. A waste of money and time.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 5th, 2017

2.0 Rating

July 18th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2016

5.0 Rating

February 20th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Maher III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Torrance, CA.

  • Dr. Henry Lee

    General Dentistry, Ophthalmology

    Torrance, CA 0.09 mi

    19
  • Dr. James Deutsch

    Dr. James Deutsch

    Emergency Medicine, Ophthalmology

    Torrance, CA 0.34 mi

    44
  • Dr. Damien Goldberg

    Dr. Damien Goldberg

    Ophthalmology

    Torrance, CA 0.72 mi

    4.6
    (16)
    17